Answered Prayers

— Dana

I am posting this update here, so I don’t forget about God’s provision as time passes.

 

Dec 4, 2012

To make a long story short, I found out that I have polyps in my stomach last week. There is a high chance that it might be cancer. So, I have an appointment Thursday morning to have surgery to remove the polyps. My doctor will have them biopsied to see if any of them come back to have cancer. Prayers would be appreciated (especially for Aaron) for peace as we take one step at a time…one day at a time. We are having a hard time emotionally the last week (some of you don’t know, but I was pregnant with twins and miscarried both of them last month while I was nearing the end of my first trimester).

The best case scenario…I have a maintenance plan to go in every 5 years to have an upper and lower GI to remove polyps. I will know more after my surgery. I will try to send an update on Friday. Thanks for praying.

 

Dec 6, 2012

I am elated to be typing this message to you this afternoon.

We went into the GI doctor’s office early this morning to do the outpatient surgery. He checked the Radiologist report and confirmed that their was something worrisome going on in my stomach related to polyps and ulcers. It quickly became apparent that I would need to do the procedure without sedation. They sprayed some numbing medication in my throat and I was awake for the entire procedure. I was thankful it only took 5 minutes to have them put a scope down my throat and inspect my esophagus, stomach and small intestines. The doctor was baffled by the fact that the polyps and ulcers had completely vanished in 2 weeks and that everything looked completely normal. It was such a relief to hear the doctor’s commentary as he was doing the scope (instead of getting the news when I groggily woke-up a few hours later).

We can chalk this one up to another modern day miracle and an answer to prayer that has completely confused and excited everyone involved in the process. Join us as we praise God for His answer to prayer. We don’t claim to understand why and how miracles happen, but I am grateful that this is a big part of my story. I feel great and have no recovery after the procedure today. Aaron and I went to Ferguson’s this morning for breakfast to celebrate this blessing. We had a great time together as we discussed the things we need to do as a family to try to keep me out of the doctor’s office for a long time.

Thanks for praying and for offering tangible assistance whenever things come up in our life. We feel incredibly blessed to be a part of a community of people that care deeply about us. We are hopeful and are looking forward to a healthy and happy 2013…and we hope the same for you and yours.

Peace.