Kangas Quotes (July)

When Naomi was a toddler and was learning about the world around her, she would call an object a “goo-dee-guy” if she didn’t know the name for it. Recently, she switched her word to “pooh-ba-loo”. When she said it the first time, I asked her what a “pooh-ba-loo” was. She looked at me and said, “Mom, pooh-ba-loo is the new goo-dee-guy.”

______________________________________________________________

I had to take Naomi to the ENT a few weeks ago. She informed me that she really needed to talk to the doctor in private. I explained to her that I needed to be in the room so I could talk to the doctor about her ears. Naomi said I could remain in the waiting room with her, but she wanted to talk to the doctor first. I was intrigued and waited until he walked in. As soon as Dr. Olds opened the door, Naomi looked him square in the face and said, “I think I have dirtatitis.” He asked her to explain what that was and he would let her know if she was right. She said, “Well, it’s when dirt gets up in your nose and you can’t smell or breathe anymore.” He laughed and told her that he had never heard of dirtatitis and that he would look into it.

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “Auntie Gee. Did you know you are really kind to children and animals?” (Auntie Gee is my sister Danise…and Naomi yelled this to her randomly while she was playing the back yard and Danise was making lunch in the kitchen).

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “Mom, I’m spreading the word.”
Dana: “About what?”
Naomi: “That we give ‘nugga-nuggas’ in this house.” (Nugga-nuggas are when we nuzzle our foreheads together.)

______________________________________________________________

Aaron: “How do you know the difference between a boy frog and a girl frog?”
Naomi: “The girls have long eyelashes.”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “My foot is very strong for how small it is.”

______________________________________________________________

I was doing my algebra homework when Naomi looked at the book and said, “Are you learning Chinese words?”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “I’m not crying, mom. Tears are just coming out of my eyes and I’m making crying noises. But I’m not actually crying.”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “Is that my pink pen. I’m so attracted to it right now.”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “I have five stomachs that can’t have soda…and one secret stomach that can have soda in it.”

______________________________________________________________

We were standing in line with Naomi and she turned around and said (in a rather loud voice), “I really don’t like standing behind people’s butts.”

______________________________________________________________

When Aaron goes to work, Naomi likes to call it his “workshop” instead of his “office”.

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “My poops are hard to get out today. QUICK!!! I need to drink water to help push them out!!!”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “I’m full but my stomach has a little room right here for cookie dough.”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “I don’t like it when your hair is in a ponytail. Because that means you didn’t take a shower and you’re having a grumpy kind of day.”

______________________________________________________________

When Aaron is in a meeting at work, he will generally stand up and tilt his computer monitor up. Naomi will ask me if she can see him during the day, and I will remind her that she can’t interrupt him when he is in a meeting. She walked into his office the other day and started talking to him. Aaron politely told her that he was in a meeting and she said, “But dad…you’re not standing!!!” I guess his co-workers thought it was hilarious and laughed for a while after she left.

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “I really love the color pink.”
Aaron: “What about the other colors?”
Naomi. “It’s kind of complicated with the other ones, dad.”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “I like the word ‘poofin’.”
Dana: “You realize it’s pronounced ‘puff-in’, right?”
Naomi: “But the word ‘puffin’ makes my mouth tired and then I want to fall asleep.”
(She the proceeded to say puffin over and over and slowly fell asleep…and then said poofin and started to wake-up. Hilarious.)

______________________________________________________________

(We like to talk about names we like when we watch the credits after a movie.)
Dana: “What do you think about the name Glenna, Glenda, Ellen and Lenore?”
Naomi: “You know what name sounds perfect? Naomi Johnson. Naomi Johnson get over here. Naomi Johnson get down from there. Naomi Johnson where are you? See. No matter how you say it it just sounds great.” (Liam’s last name is Johnson. Despite my constant reminder that she is only 4 years old and that marriage is grown-up talk, she’s convinced they are going to get married.)

