Kangas Quotes (June)

— Dana

My friend, Rose, sent me an email a few weeks ago that had a link to a website. It had all these questions listed with funny answers from children. I decided to ask sweet Naomi the same questions to see what she would say. Here are her answers:

HOW DO YOU DECIDE WHO TO MARRY?
You meet someone and then you just love each other.

HOW CAN A STRANGER TELL IF TWO PEOPLE ARE MARRIED?
They always stay together.

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOUR MOM AND DAD HAVE IN COMMON?
They both work, sing and talk to me.

WHAT DO MOST PEOPLE DO ON A DATE?
They drink drinks and talk to each other.

WHAT WOULD YOU DO ON A FIRST DATE THAT WAS TURNING SOUR?
I would say, “Excuse me. I’m having a bad date.” I would just talk to them about it.

WHEN IS IT OKAY TO KISS SOMEONE?
When you’re a grown-up.

IS IT BETTER TO BE SINGLE OR MARRIED?
Married. Because it is good when people fall in love.

HOW WOULD THE WORLD BE DIFFERENT IF PEOPLE DIDN’T GET MARRIED?
All the babies would come from God and not from married people.

HOW WOULD YOU MAKE A MARRIAGE WORK?
When you’re both working, you have a happy marriage. You should also have animals, play with your husband and…did I mention baby kitties? You need those, too. Maybe you could have a zoo. Or a hamster.

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “Curious George and The Man in the Yellow Hat know a lot of people in this town.”

______________________________________________________________

Dana: “What are you looking at?”
Naomi: “I’m staring at the clouds. One looks like a slug…and then there’s a fox right there. It looks like the slug is tickling the fox.”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “I have a pretend watch that’s pink with princesses…and it counts backwards and then goes forwards.”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “Cougars are big, nasty kitties.”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “Here…would you like to drink juice with throw-up and water in it, mommy.”
Dana: “No thank you.”
Naomi: “Can you just drink it? We both know it’s pretend.”

______________________________________________________________

Dana: “We need to leave in 15 minutes.”
Naomi: “Okay, mommy.”
Liam: “Why don’t you leave in 100 minutes?”
Naomi: “Don’t tell me how to plan my life, Liam!!!”
Dana: “I think he was trying to tell you that he wanted you to stay longer.”
Naomi: “Oh…well that’s a great idea.”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi informed me today that she has a pretend 8 year old sister named Audry and twin pretend 7 year old brothers named Tonto and Lone Ranger.

______________________________________________________________

Dana: “I just need to decorate and bring drinks and desserts. I think that’s my only responsibility right now.”
Naomi: “Well, my responsibilities right now are the alphabet, numbers, shapes and colors.”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi’s teacher taught everyone the “Fruit of the Spirit” song to help them remember their memory verse in school. (You can listen to it here: http://youtu.be/LdElpu7W61E) I kept asking Naomi, “How did you feel loved today?” And she would respond by singing this song over and over.

______________________________________________________________

Naomi does this funny thing where she pushes my nose up and pulls my chin down, so she can shove her nose in my mouth (that’s open as wide as it can go) to smell my breath and guess what I just ate. It’s usually when I’ve had candy or chocolate. However, she can correctly identify the food item every time without fail. It also makes me giggle uncontrollably when she does it.

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “I like the word ‘jazz’. I can say it really fast…jazz…jazz…jazz…”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: (Standing on a chair) “Hey, mom…look…I’m doing a dangerous thing.”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “I need to go to Bethlehem right now.”

______________________________________________________________

Naomi: “Daddy, come play hippos with me. You will be the daddy hippo and I will be the kid hippo. Let’s hibernate. Mom…ummm…do hippos hibernate?”
Dana: “No, they migrate.”
Naomi: “Oh…daddy, we need to migrate now. It’s wintertime. Come on, daddy hippo. Mommy hippo is going to work downstairs now in the snow. She will probably die, but it’s okay. We will live together in our cave.”

