Kangas Quotes (July)

— Dana

Pumpkin (our cat) ran out the front door. Naomi immediately grabbed her pink washcloth and held it up in front of her face. She then looked at me and said, “Pumpkin is missing. Let’s look at my map. We need to take one big jump to Pumpkin Island. Come with me.”

______________________________________________

Naomi: “Knock, knock.”
Liam: “Who’s there?”
Naomi: “I love you!” (kissing noises)
Liam: “Now that’s funny!”

______________________________________________

Naomi: “Look, mom!!! He’s your sweetheart still, but he’s your pirate doctor. (Aaron had a paper with a string wrapped around his head. It looked like a doctor’s reflector mirror, but it was slightly over his eye like a pirate.)

______________________________________________

Dana: “Naomi, do you want some breakfast?”
Naomi: “No, I’m going to watch the kitties grow-up.”

______________________________________________

Dana: “What are you doing?”
Naomi: “I’m waiting for hair to grow on my vagina.”

______________________________________________

Jerry came downstairs first thing in the morning. Naomi and I were quietly sitting on the couch when she blurted out, “Jerry, you have a penis.” And I looked at her and said, “How about we try ‘Good Morning, Jerry’ instead.” I’m beginning to question our decision to teach her correct medical terms for body parts.

______________________________________________

Naomi: “Mom, I’ve got two hairs on my vagina. I’m going to be a grown-up any day now.”
Dana: “Actually, you don’t have hair until you’re a teenager. Sorry, honey.”
Naomi: “Aww man.”

______________________________________________

Naomi: “You should kiss mom and wake her up. And don’t let her kiss you back. Just like Sleeping Beauty.”

______________________________________________

Naomi: “I don’t want to go over there. It’s too…normal.”

______________________________________________

Naomi: “What does nocturnal mean?”
Dana: “It’s when something sleeps all day and is awake all night.”
Naomi: “Uncle Matt is nocturnal!!!”

______________________________________________

Naomi was wearing an outfit that had blue and purple colors. We were going for a walk in Manito Park when she spotted a large, beautiful bush that had blue and purple flowers all over it. She ran over to the bush and proceeded to stand really still. As we walked closer to the bush, she exclaimed, “Look, I’m camouflaged.”

______________________________________________

Naomi: “Where are we going?”
Dana: “I have to go to Walgreens to buy some batteries.”

(We drove to Walgreens and found a parking spot.)
Naomi: “That’s not Walgreens!!!”
Dana: “Yes it is…”
Naomi: “No. Look. The walls are brown, mom. They need to paint the walls green or change the name to ‘Walbrowns’.”

______________________________________________

Naomi: “Did you know balloons have belly buttons on their bottom?”

______________________________________________

 Naomi: “This is my ‘I lost my toy face’. It’s a sad and sour face mixed together.” (I wish I had a picture of this to share. It was totally a mix of sad and sour.)
