SuperBetter

http://youtu.be/lfBpsV1Hwqs

I watched ^ this TED Talk earlier in the week. It might be too early to tell, but it’s quite possible that this talk changed my life. The speaker, Jane, took all my happiness research and created an online game called “SuperBetter”. I’ve been knee deep in research about gratitude and resiliency the last few months…two key factors in developing happiness when life sucks and things are difficult (which was different than the everyday, ordinary life happiness research). I believe this website has the potential to change the lives of those who are fighting difficult battles everyday.

This online game is designed to make you stronger…physically, mentally, emotionally and socially…so that you can better tackle whatever real-life personal challenge you are facing. I love what it says on the homepage: “SuperBetter helps you achieve your health goals — or recover from an illness or injury — by increasing your personal resilience. Resilience means staying curious, optimistic and motivated even in the face of the toughest challenges.” I’m fighting a difficult battle…it’s called life. And I need more resilience (and more allys like you) to help me perservere through this tough journey. If you want to fight some epic battles of your own (yes, on yet another website), feel free to add me on the “SuperBetter” website.

www.superbetter.com
Speaking of the website, I was tasked with an interesting quest today: Choose a friend or ally who you trust and ask them to be your awesome mirror. Why does s/he think you rock? What is your unique brand of sparkliness? What does s/he admire about who you are and how you show up in the world? It was humbling, to say the least, to ask people to give me a compliment and tell me why they like me. It was equally difficult to receive their compliments.

The second part of the quest was to collect the responses and make a “secret note” for myself…so I can read them when I’m having a hard day. I know this will be good for me. I’m having a good day today. Who knows what tomorrow holds. What I do know is that I am ready to be “SuperBetter”, and it’s going to take a lot of time and patience. Which is why my hero name is “Dana, Warrior Princess”. (It was that or “Princess Consuela”.)

