Facebook Status Updates (April)

— Dana

We were all pretty sick this entire month…

__________________________________________________

By Aaron Kangas

April 8 at 8:15pm ·
Finally moved my office upstairs.

April 12 at 9:22pm ·
First bike ride of the year. Why did I wait so long?

April 12 at 9:27pm ·
Only 10,600 millionaires paid a lower effective tax rate than me a few years back.

April 18 at 5:19pm ·
“Forgiveness means it finally becomes unimportant that you hit back. You’re done. It doesn’t necessarily mean that you want to have lunch with the person. If you keep hitting back, you stay trapped in the nightmare”

April 21 at 9:40pm ·
First sunburn of the year. Ah the joys of having fair skin.

April 22 at 3:44pm ·
Such a pretty, sunny day (and no sunburn)!

April 26 at 10:07pm ·
Time for sleep.

April 29 at 4:16pm ·
The Dalai Lama and Dolly Parton should go on tour. It could be called ‘Hello Dollies (or Dalais)’

__________________________________________________

By Dana Kangas

April 1 at 7:17am ·
Naomi needs to work on her April Fool’s jokes. She woke-up really early this morning and told me she was feeling hot. I don’t see the joke in a 102º temperature.

April 2 at 12:12pm ·
I’m almost positive Naomi has Roseola. We have plague cupcakes if anyone wants to come over and catch this fun virus!!!

April 2 at 6:44pm ·
My attempts at planning a 10th anniversary get-away has officially become a huge pain in the butt. Shame on me for not planning everything earlier in the year…and for getting married in June.

April 3 at 10:34am ·
Dear colds, flus, and all negative health related things…
I hate you. That is all.
Regretfully Yours,
Dana Kangas

April 4 at 1:55pm ·
Does someone want to take out my thyroid for me? I don’t want it anymore. $100 OBO.

April 4 at 4:57pm ·
Naomi has a double ear infection that has really affected her hearing the last week. We’ve had to raise our voice just to have a normal conversation with her. It’s really difficult to not feel angry while I’m yelling…even when I’m just asking a simple question.

April 5 at 7:41am ·
“[God] tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young.” Isaiah 40:11

April 7 at 11:59am ·
If our bodies are a temple, I must be a mega church.

April 8 at 7:37pm ·
Today would have been my first of two due dates. I’m glad I had the weeks leading up to Easter to prepare my heart to let go. God understands my grief. His Son died on the cross…and was raised on the third day. I’m grateful for Jesus’ Resurrection. It reminds my heart that there is still hope.

April 8 at 10:34pm ·
I’m pretty sure the Manito Tap House is my new favorite place. Don’t tell anyone, but I think I like it better than Disneyland.

April 9 at 7:45am ·
This week, we will celebrate Aaron’s the 10th Anniversary at work. (I’m so proud of him.) A big thanks to Scotte Meredith for seeing potential in my husband a month before he even graduated from college.

April 10 at 8:07am ·
My husband programmed an app for me. How sexy is that?

April 10 at 10:26am ·
It’s not a real “Kangas Adventure” unless we lock ourselves out of the house.

April 11 at 12:52pm ·
The good thing about days like this is that it can only get better!!!

April 11 at 4:52pm ·
Quoique mon chat ait fait pipi sur toutes nos chaussures ce matin et ma voiture a éliminé notre épargne entière avec une réparation récente, je donne toujours des mercis au seigneur.

April 12 at 6:14pm ·
Naomi and I had a date this afternoon. And now she is on a date with Aaron. So much cuteness wrapped up in such a short amount of time.

April 12 at 9:29pm ·
I have nearly 3,000 pins in Pinterest. I wish I could get motivated to do them all. Oh…and a million dollars would help, too.

April 13 at 10:12pm ·
Sun.
Nap.
Friends.
Successful Blood Draw.
It’s been a good day.

April 14 at 8:33am ·
“It is easy to be heavy: hard to be light” (or, as the saying goes, “Dying is easy; comedy is hard”).

April 14 at 9:10pm ·
Sun.
Bike Ride.
Play in Parks.
A Dear Friend’s Wedding.
It’s been a good day.

April 15 at 10:44am ·
What is your favorite/successful tip about being healthy and losing weight? (Please note that I’m not looking for any sales or “lose weight fast” tips.)

April 15 at 2:36pm ·
It’s not a real “Kangas Adventure” unless we get caught in the rain during an afternoon walk.

April 16 at 7:35am ·
Some of the most convincing evidence for music, singing and dancing as a major contributor toward happiness. (Old Man In Nursing Home Reacts To Hearing Music From His Era – youtube.com)

April 16 at 10:31am ·
I think “Spring Cleaning” is just a code word for “one room is completely clean and the rest of the house is trashed”.

April 16 at 5:44pm ·
Naomi blew out her ear drum. I blew out an electrical outlet in the living room. I wonder what Aaron will blow out today. Any suggestions?

April 17 at 9:12am ·
Come On Get Happy – Partridge Family

April 17 at 3:05pm ·
“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” ― John Lennon

April 18 at 6:35am ·
I need to plan more “Same Height Parties”…

April 18 at 10:44am ·
My husband fixed a broken outlet (that I damaged)…AND wired a new one in our spare bedroom. How sexy is that?

April 19 at 10:22am ·
Naomi has been SO good the last month. She must know I don’t feel well…

April 19 at 6:26pm ·
Spring Cleaning.
Time to Play with Naomi.
Long Talk with a Friend.
Homemade Ice Cream.
It’s been a good day.

April 19 at 7:16pm ·
We just taught Naomi to walk into a room and say, “Is everybody happy…H-A-P-P-Y!!!” I’m so excited that the first word she knows how to spell is happy. My job here is done.

April 20 at 10:36pm ·
I wish I had more answers to explain why I can barely function each day. I guess really low estrogen, high testosterone and a fluctuating thyroid could be enough…

April 21 at 7:52am ·
“In the end we are all separate: our stories, no matter how similar, come to a fork and diverge. We are drawn to each other because of our similarities, but it is our differences we must learn to respect.”

April 21 at 10:20pm ·
Wake-up to the sound of giggling children.
Impromptu walk + coffee with a friend.
Attend Brené Brown’s online seminar.
Research Happiness in the afternoon sun.
A special dinner for two.
It’s been a good day.

April 22 at 7:50am ·
There are days when I wish the peacemaker inside me would just die.

April 22 at 10:02am ·
Christians never cease to amaze me on how deep they can hurt other Christians. I guess it continues to prove our ability to sin…and our constant need for a Savior.

April 22 at 9:58pm ·
It was a beautiful day to have family time at Lake Coeur d’Alene.

April 23 at 8:06am ·
Piglet: Oh, Owl. I don’t mean to c-c-complain, but I’m afraid, I’m scared.
Owl: Now, now, Piglet, Chin up and all that sort of thing. A rescue’s being thought of. Be brave, little Piglet!
Piglet: It’s awfully hard to be b-b-b-b-brave when you’re such a small animal.
Owl: Then to divert your small mind from your unfortunate predicament, I shall tell you an amusing anecdote…
***Does anyone have an amusing anecdote for me today?

April 23 at 3:03pm ·
All I have to do is buy a pregnancy test at the Dollar Store (after being a few days “late”) to get my period to start. Works like a charm. Every time.

April 23 at 4:09pm ·
“And so, as those who have been chosen of God, HOLY AND BELOVED, put on a heart of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience; bearing with one another, and forgiving each other, whoever has a complaint against anyone; just as the Lord forgave you, so also should you. And beyond all these things put on love, which is the perfect bond of unity. And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body; and be thankful. (Colossians 3:12-15) Jason Gray – Remind Me Who I Am (Official Music Video)

April 23 at 9:45pm ·
I found me some happy face wine…

April 24 at 7:55am ·
Last night, my husband installed an air conditioning unit in every bedroom of our house. How sexy is that?

April 24 at 5:15pm ·
If you ever wake-up in the morning feeling a little low…just walk two miles down Market St. You’ll get plenty of guys honking and whistling at you as they drive by. (And this is not one of my happiness tips…)

April 26 at 7:41am ·
I have the funniest cats. As soon as Naomi starts to make noise in the morning, Figaro will find his way to my bed. He will then proceed to tap my shoulder repeatedily with his paw. If that doesn’t successfully wake me up, he will lay on my chest and lick my lips (this move will always make me roll over on my side). It is at this point where he makes is signature “wake-up Dana” move. He will then start biting my ear until I get out of bed. Then, he will lay in my spot, so I won’t be tempted to come back to bed. Once I’m awake, I am greeted at the bottom of the stairs by Pumpkin. She will subtly try to race up the stairs (in which she always wins), and then wait by Naomi’s bedroom door until I can open it. As soon as we are greeted by Naomi’s beautiful smile, Pumpkin will jump on her bed and cuddle with Naomi for a while. Our cats always make things happier in the morning…

April 27 at 9:06am ·
I can already tell that today is going to be “one of those days”…when I have really low energy and will feel guilty at the end of the day for “being a waste of space”. To counter this horrible attitude about myself, I’ve decided to make a list of things I CAN do everyday and feel like it was a “good day” by the time I go to sleep…and to feel like I am enough. What would be your list of things to do when you’re having “one of those days”?

Everyday I can…
1. Make my bed.
2. Take a shower and get dressed.
3. Pick-up ten objects that are in the wrong place and put them away.
4. Go for a ten-minute walk or bike ride outside.
5. Take a nap.
6. Wear my seat belt.
7. Touch everyone in my house with affection (and hug for 6 seconds).
8. Smile often.
9. Listen to my favorite music…and dance.
10. Put my keys away in the same place.
11. Eat a fruit or vegetable.
12. Take a picture.
13. Read a book.
14. Watch a movie.
15. Have fun with my daughter and be present.
16. Write a note to a friend.
17. Go to bed on time.
18. Find something funny on Facebook.
19. Drink a glass of wine with dinner.
20. Research another “Happiness Tip”.
21. Drink lots of water.

April 27 at 10:42pm ·
I always love a good redemptive evening.

April 28 at 10:26am ·
I just got my first “Happiness” present!!! 🙂

April 30 at 6:42am ·
There’s no better place to take a nap than in the comfort of your church and in the arms of your husband.

April 30 at 6:42am ·
There’s no better place to take a nap than in the comfort of your church and in the arms of your husband.

April 30 at 9:08am ·
How about them allergies, huh? Other than a neti pot, does anyone have any allergy relief tips to share?

April 30 at 3:50pm ·
Restful pajama day.
Created invitations for a graduation party.
Jerry has officially moved in.
Special adoption celebration dinner.
It’s been a good day.

