52home: Week 51

I can’t believe there is only a few more weeks left in the year. It’s a good thing I planned a lot of things to do to keep me busy…

Advent Day 14: Jingle Bells
[ONE] Saturday 12/10/2011 • 10:34am

1. Book

This is an adorable little story about two Christmas mice and a menacing cat. They end out putting the bells on the cat at the end of the story. My daughter thought this was a hilarious idea. RATING: ◊◊◊◊◊

2. Movie

A Christmas Classic that the whole family will enjoy (I’m not the biggest Chipmunks fan…and I even liked it)!!! RATING: ◊◊◊◊

3. Activity: Make Jingle Bell Bracelets + Sing “Jingle Bells”

This was a fun little activity that Naomi could do. We just put little bells on pipe cleaners and made different designs. When we were done, we put some on the tree and some on Naomi’s boots for the activity later that day.

4. Treat: Bell Shaped Chocolates

5. Field Trip: Put bells on Naomi’s boots and go for a walk.

Alyson's 16th Harry Potter Birthday Party
[TWO] Saturday 12/10/2011 • 6:01pm











There’s a ton more pictures from the party on a different blog post that I did just special for Alyson to show off to her family and friends. https://kangascommune.wordpress.com/2012/01/11/alysons-16th-birthday-party/

Aaron's Gig at The Mulz Shed
[THREE] Saturday 12/10/2011 • 9:26pm

Advent Day 15: Gingerbread
Sunday 12/11/2011 • 12:15pm

1. Books

This is the classic Gingerbread Man story that everyone probably knows or has read over the years. It was a little boring for Naomi, but she managed to sit through the entire reading. RATING: ◊◊◊

I think I like the story of the Gingerbread Girl better than the Gingerbread Man. It was more entertaining for kids. It also read a little easier. RATING: ◊◊◊◊◊

2. Movie

 I forgot how hilarious this movie is…and we picked it for the obvious gingerbread man scene near the end of the movie. My daughter wasn’t as thrilled about watching this movie as I was, so I would rate it for a 5 year old. RATING: ◊◊◊◊

3. Activity: Build your own gingerbread house at The Davenport Hotel.




4. Treat: Gingerbread house.

5. Field Trip: Professional gingerbread house display.




Advent Day 16: Trains
Monday 12/12/2011 • 11:40am

1. Book

This was the first time that I’ve ever read this book. It had beautiful illustrations and the story was similar enough to the movie, so Naomi was intrigued enough to sit through it. RATING: ◊◊◊

2. Movie

We received this movie as a gift last Christmas. My daughter insisted on watching it well into the early part of the next year. So, by the time Christmas came around again, she was ready to watch it over and over again. The animations in this movie are absolutely incredible. You often forget that it’s an illustrated movie!!! RATING: ◊◊◊◊

3. Activity: Paint a Train

For some reason, we ran out of time today to do this activity. My plan was to have Naomi paint a piece of paper with marbles and then cut out the paper into the shape of a train. This website was my inspiration: http://artfulparent.typepad.com

4. Treat: Candy Train

Naomi was a good little helper as I glued this treat together with hot glue. We made a few varieties, but this seems to be the only one I took a picture of while they were cooling off. This treat was just as fun to make as it was to eat!!!

5. Field Trip: Mobius and make a train with the large foam blocks.

I met at friend at Mobius on this day. We did make a train. I am just getting really forgetful at taking pictures of all my planned activities. Fortunately, I did manage to get a few pictures while we were at Mobius. We were having too much fun to stop and take any pictures while we were there.

Advent Day 17: Candy Canes 
Tuesday 12/13/2011 • 4:28pm

1. Book

I didn’t mind reading this book, but I’m not sure I will get it next year. It had a nice Christian story. However, it was a little cheesy for me. RATING: ◊◊

2. Movie

We bought this movie at the end of Christmas last year and never ended up watching it. I was a little bored, but Naomi seemed to enjoy it. RATING: ◊◊◊

3. Activity: Make beaded candy cane ornaments for the tree.

4. Treat: Candy Cane Mint Milanos

5. Field Trip: Baskin Robbins to eat Peppermint Ice Cream.

Advent Day 18: Giving
Wednesday 12/14/2011 • 3:07pm

1. Book

I think I may purchase this book. It was a fun story about keeping secrets and not telling people what you got them for Christmas. It was suspenseful for my daughter and was very fun for her to get all excited in the end when the little boy kept his secret. RATING: ◊◊◊◊◊

2. Movies

A sweet movie that emphasizes the heart of Christmas and giving to others. Naomi thought this was a super cute Christmas movie. RATING: ◊◊◊◊

A short little video with Winnie the Pooh that is a great watch…especially the littlest kids. It wasn’t my favorite Winnie the Pooh, but it was nice to watch on a snowy afternoon. RATING: ◊◊◊

I would rate this movie as PG-6. So, I watched this one by myself while Naomi was asleep and Aaron was out of town. It was a typical cheesy Tim Allen movie. RATING: ◊◊◊

3. Field Trip: Hand deliver Christmas Cards.

Advent Day 19: Family/Quality Time
Thursday 12/15/2011 • 7:52pm

1. Book

I love love love this books series. This book was fun to read on a family day. We sat down and read it before we watched our movie. My daughter giggles the whole way through the book whenever we read it. I should buy this one as well. RATING: ◊◊◊◊◊

2. Movies

A serious Christmas classic, this is, perhaps, my absolute favorite movie to watch any time during the year. RATING: ◊◊◊◊◊

We are not big fans of kids watching “The Simpsons”, so I would rate this one at PG-12. As adults, we chuckled through each episode. RATING: ◊◊◊

3. Activity: Spread Christmas cheer by singing loud for all to hear.

4. Treat: A big bowl of popcorn during the family movie.

5. Field Trip: Alyson’s Christmas Concert at North Central HS.

Advent Day 20: Snowman
Friday 12/16/2011 • 5:39pm

1. Books

There are so many great snow and snowman books at the library. This was no exception. A sweet little book about a town creating a snowman together. The illustrations were beautiful and it was captivating enough for my daughter. RATING: ◊◊◊◊◊

I love the book. It was a great read and one that I think I will buy for our personal collection of Christmas stories. RATING: ◊◊◊◊◊

2. Movie

I remember watching this movie when I was Naomi’s age. It was fun to share part of my childhood with her…and have her enjoy it. RATING: ◊◊◊◊

3. Activity: Make a snowman using saving creme.

Naomi was a little too young for this activity. She needed more assistance than I originally thought. I think I will try this activity again next year. It turned out really cute.

4. Treat: Snowman donut.

5. Field Trip: Krispy Kreme to find snowman donuts.