Facebook Status Updates (November)

— Dana

It’s been a fun month…

__________________________________________________

By Aaron Kangas

Up dark and early this morning.
November 7 at 6:01am

Umm…. status message here.
November 10 at 4:12pm

Thanks Uncle Charlie Lytle, for your service to our country.
November 11 at 6:03am

Snow.
November 12 at 4:01pm

My band Back In Time is playing another benefit, up at the Elk VFW, for the Kelly Family. Come on over and join us this Saturday the 19th, when we play at 8:00pm, or come earlier, for the rest of the benefit.
November 15 at 12:48pm

My band is playing tonight, up in Elk, WA at the VFW (there’s even directions for those of you who might want to come but aren’t familiar).
November 19 at 5:26pm

30 days without sugar, lost 10 lbs. 1 day with sugar, gained 3 lbs.
November 20 at 9:54am

Let’s see if we have more than 7 minutes of hot water after replacing the elements in our water heater.
November 20 at 3:22pm

Pro: New elements in the water heater means we have lots of hot water. Con: Old thermostat in water heater seems to have burnt out won’t shut off, and perhaps nearly burnt down our house.
November 20 at 9:28pm

Perfect Thanksgiving break so far.
November 25 at 7:01pm

Maybe i’m cynical, but this comes across as hardly shocking to me. “The shocking truth about the crackdown on Occupy” www.guardian.co.uk Naomi Wolf: The violent police assaults across the US are no coincidence. Occupy has touched the third rail of our political class’s venality
November 26 at 12:37pm

Mmm…. coffee…
November 27 at 7:38am

__________________________________________________

By Dana Kangas

It’s time to crank up the Christmas music!!!
November 1 at 2:01pm

Happy Palindrome Day.
November 2 at 4:00pm

I finally broke my 5 year “no cavity” record today. To drown my sorrows, after my dentist appointment, I went across the street to pick up a few “Trader Joe’s” favorites. I’m pretty excited we have a store in Spokane now!!!
November 2 at 9:04pm

We bought our house 8 years ago (happy mortgage signing anniversary last week). So many great memories in this house. I’m looking forward to more great memories as the years pass by…and hosting a mortgage burning party before Naomi graduates from High School.
November 3 at 10:26pm

Every time I go to Mobius, I love watching all the amazing parents. It is so encouraging to see so many in one location.
November 4 at 1:31pm

For the last 11 years, Aaron and I have spent the entire month of November searching for one Christmas ornament that will represent the entire year. The phrase that keeps creeping into our conversations this year is a difficult one to translate into an ornament. Does anyone have any suggestions for an “END OF AN ERA” ornament?
November 6 at 12:00am

My own bad breath kept waking me up last night. I blame the Ethiopian food I ate for dinner.
November 6 at 8:19am

What is my secret, you ask, for getting through Daylight Savings without waking up early when you have kids? Keep them up really late for a few nights and don’t let them take a nap. Works like a charm.
November 6 at 9:30pm

Winter can officially start now!!! We’ve finally completed all our outside winterization projects.
November 7 at 5:11pm

I’ve had a hard time going to MOMs Group lately. However, once I talk myself into getting in the car, I’m always blessed by my favorite ladies. I wish I wasn’t so lame.
November 8 at 3:50pm

I wish people would feel inspired instead of envious.
November 9 at 6:24am

There’s nothing cuter than two little kids playing and laughing upstairs. Pure bliss.
November 9 at 8:30pm

√ Design Christmas Cards
√ Order Christmas Cards
√ Christmas Cards Arrive!!!
√ Finalize Christmas Songs
Design Christmas CD Cover
Deliver!!!
November 10 at 8:57am

Why do I remember to put my watch on when I don’t need to be anywhere? But on days when I have an appointment, I leave it on my end table!!!
November 10 at 3:36pm

I use to hear “phantom baby” crying in my head in the middle of the night. Now I hear “mom” repeated a thousand times. I don’t know which one is worse.
November 10 at 8:47pm

I think I will set my watch alarm for 11:11am today. I will have to think of something cool to today since it is 11/11/11 already. My first decision for this glorious day is to go to bed.
November 11 at 12:47am

I’m working on Advent stuff for this year. It’s pretty awesome.
November 11 at 10:41am

Twenty-five million veterans are living among us today. These men and women selflessly set aside their civilian lives to put on the uniform and serve us. I don’t know you all personally, but I am truly grateful for your service. Thank you.
November 11 at 9:36pm

I didn’t realize how much I missed my friend until I had a chance to visit with her this afternoon. Three hours is not enough time when you have a years worth of stuff to share. It doesn’t get much better than a lazy morning…afternoon coffee with a friend…and Scrabble Night at Small Group with some of my favorite people.
November 11 at 10:11pm

Happiness is a little girl playing in the snow with just her boots, mittens and pjs.
November 12 at 8:32am

For the first time in my life, I think I actually enjoy doing the dishes. It has become my quiet time during the day. At this rate, I don’t think we will be looking to replace our broken dishwasher after all.
November 12 at 12:27pm

Ben and I found a great Chuck Norris joke: “Chuck Norris grinds his coffee with his teeth and boils the water with his rage.”
November 12 at 1:23pm

What the heck!? There was a blizzard outside when I had to get Alyson Meginniss from work, and now that I want to go out and play in the snow it’s all melted. Lame!!!
November 13 at 7:40am

You know it’s cold in the house when the butter melts faster in the refrigerator than it does on the kitchen counter.
November 13 at 9:15am

I wish people would develop the art of living a slower life…instead of rushing from one thing to another all the time.
November 14 at 8:45am

I’m pretty excited about finding Biscoff cookies at World Market. They do exist outside of Delta flights!!! **Happy Dance**
November 14 at 9:08pm

I figured out the BEST way to wake-up Naomi in the morning and after nap time. Last night, we bought some multi-colored Christmas lights and an electronic timer. Then, we set the timer so it would stay on during the day (awake time) and turn off when it was time to go to bed (for nap and bedtime). So far so good!!!
November 15 at 7:49am

I’m really excited right now!!! I get to take Shaelyn to the “Smurfs” movie tonight. We have a long history of watching the Smurfs together. I’m pretty sure it will be an epic moment.
November 15 at 2:33pm

I found “Gnomeo and Juliet” on Netflix (Watch Instantly) this week. I love that movie!!!
November 16 at 8:18am

I love it when my hair smells like coffee when I get home. Thanks Courtney Pegram for the cupcake and coffee date
November 16 at 11:40am

There are so many interesting smells that occur while receiving a filling on ones tooth.
November 16 at 4:00pm

  • On another note, my jaw was locked open when they took off the rubber dam. Nothing gets a dentist and his assistant moving faster than a little lock jaw. November 16 at 4:07pm

I don’t know if Naomi will love the Advent activities that I’ve planned, but I’m excited for all the fun that will happen the rest of the year!!!
November 17 at 8:56am

I’m gettin’ my hair re-permed today. It should be nice and curly for the holidays.
November 18 at 10:31am

For the first time EVER, my husband weighs less than me. This is ridiculous. I think it’s time to join the gym and find a tape worm. I think I will name him “tickles the tape worm”.
November 19 at 9:00am

I am in love with the Spokane Library this week!!! I’ve been able to search and request all my books for Advent this year using their website. I just got 20 books today…and will pick-up 10 more next week.
November 19 at 4:25pm

I love being a mom. Honestly, I have yet to find something in this world that compares to the feelings of having my own children. With that said, I am not a fan of barf fountains in the middle of the night…and having to bathe my child because it’s all over her hair and face. I am also thankful that Aaron was home when it happened…because he was in charge of the laundry situation. Fortunately, Naomi was the only one to toss her cookies last night. Kudos to all you single parents out there. I have the utmost respect for all that you do for your children.
November 20 at 9:17am

I’m feeling incredibly grateful for the following reasons:
1) Naomi is not sick. I just fed her expired yogurt on accident.
2) The water heater was repaired for less than $20 (by replacing both elements and scraping all the mineral deposits from the bottom of the tank).
3) Our friends from High School drove all the way to Spokane to come to church with us. It was great to worship with The Hodgson’s this evening at The Porch.
4) After church, we had our friends over for dinner. It smelled like an electrical fire as soon as we opened the front door. Thank you, Jesus, for protecting our house while we were at church…and for sending friends to our house to lighten the mood. There’s just a little flood in the basement from the release valve…and nothing was damaged. I suppose that would indicate a problem with the thermostat as well. Who knew?
5) And now The Speirs’ have offered to help us with our thermostat. Hooray for friends and family!!!
November 20 at 10:13pm

  • The day started out with a Naomi puke fountain an hour after Aaron got home from his gig at the Elk VFW (at 2am). Then my period started. The water heater was fixed. Then it overheated and sprayed water in our basement. So, I guess it wasn’t fixed. Today, Naomi is just fine…the basement is almost dry now…and it was $10 to replace the thermostat (and dinner for the Speirs). Not too shabby. We are thankful for a beautiful house and money still in our savings. November 21 at 10:20pm

Because our water heater is not working and I can’t take a shower until it’s fixed, I had a dream last night that Weird Al approached me in Downtown Spokane and said he really liked my hair.
November 21 at 12:09pm

I’ve been thinking about this the last few days. Thanks Kathleen Cavender for your wonderful insights.

”When loved ones try to take a bite out of you, hurt you, in subtle ways or otherwise, it is because they themselves are hurting and have unresolved issues. It’s best to not take it personal. Don’t get defensive. Don’t try to explain yourself. Don’t complain about it or play the martyr. Just give them space to work it out and then live a life of love & compassion. As much as it is possible, be at peace. We all get plenty opportunities to practice this.”
November 21 at 12:45pm

All my bookkeeping work is done for the week!!! I’m looking forward to a nice staycation with my family…and celebrating the beginning of Advent this coming weekend.
November 21 at 5:21pm

Victorious!!! I dedicate today to Mr. Lance Speirs…and his mad electrical skills. We are now open for business to those of you that are currently looking for hot water.
November 21 at 9:49pm

I have to take my new snow boots back to the store today. They’re just not working out. The search is on again…
November 22 at 10:57am

I am so thankful for my daughter (even when she throws a huge fit during our afternoon walk). I’m also thankful for a friend that will stay with me and my daughter during said walk (and not pretend she’s shopping alone).
November 23 at 2:54pm

I’m putting on my stretchy holiday pants.
November 24 at 9:10am

I had a very proud parenting moment this week. Naomi and I stopped at the “Tree of Sharing” table in the mall. The lady sitting at the table looked over at Naomi and said, “What do you want for Christmas?” Naomi gave her a blank stare…and was puzzled by her question. She then told the lady, “I want to see the Christmas lights and sing with my family.” I’m glad we are instilling a value of people and experiences over presents during Christmas.
November 24 at 10:47am

May I be the first to wish everyone a very happy “Buy Nothing Day” tomorrow…
November 24 at 8:24pm

Aaron has been reminding me (for the last 24 hours) that today is also “Evacuation Day”. This is funny on so many levels… “Following the American Revolution, Evacuation Day on November 25 marks the day in 1783 when the last vestige of British authority in the United States — its troops in New York — departed from Manhattan.[1] The last shot of the American Revolutionary War was reported to be fired on this day…”
November 25 at 10:44am

This morning, we realized this year marks the largest Thanksgiving dinner that we’ve been a part of (I think we counted 30+ people). A BIG thanks goes out to Ginny Cogle and Robbin Witty for hosting our annual “Orphan Thanksgiving” this year!!!
November 25 at 3:31pm

It’s a little terrifying to sit and listen to a recording of my own voice, but I think my Christmas song turned out pretty.
November 25 at 6:36pm

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me, a recorded song for all to see…”In The Bleak Midwinter”
November 25 at 9:49pm

Aaron let me sleep until 10:30am this morning. Now, I can’t sleep…because I had too much sleep today. Poor, poor, Dana.
November 25 at 11:26pm

Happy Small Business Saturday.
November 26 at 11:51am

Drumroll please…Christmas presents are complete and ready to be hand-delivered and/or mailed on Monday. And we didn’t participate in Black Friday.
November 26 at 3:29pm

Happy first day of Advent!!! “God of Advent, kindle within me the flame of hope. As I walk through this day, may that hope remind me of your promise that something good is coming. Amen. ” -Beth Richardson
November 27 at 8:05am

Happiness is a clean house.
November 27 at 11:01am

Day 1 of our Advent extravaganza was a blast. I’m looking forward to the next 28 days.
November 27 at 9:07pm

‎”…Hope becomes a critical part of our Advent survival kit, guiding us through the distractions, reminding us of our single task: to prepare the way.” – Beth Richardson “The Uncluttered Heart”
November 28 at 7:14am

Naomi (playing with her toy nativity set): “Look, it’s baby Jesus. He’s so born.”
November 28 at 8:47am

It was family nap time at the Kangas household. In 45 minutes, we received 2 phone calls, a knock on the door and the neighbors are getting something delivered in a truck that beeps while in reverse. So much for nap time.
November 28 at 3:44pm

I love babies…but pre-schoolers can do fun activities with mom and dad!!!
November 28 at 5:59pm

I love crazy candy from the Russian store.
November 29 at 9:53am

No one told me how fun kids can be…
November 30 at 8:21am

I had a lovely staycation with my husband this last week. I must let him get to bed so we can get up at 5am tomorrow morning to start his first day back to work.
November 30 at 10:41pm

