Awkward

— Dana

I thought this might happen in the days following my miscarriage. I really did the best I could to inform people of the situation, but it happened anyway.

Someone sent me a late congratulations card.

I also got a few Facebook posts from friends, asking when I was due and various other questions that pertained to my former pregnancy. Things like this are just awkward for everyone involved. I do my best to let the person know of the heartbreaking change, and how we are working through the process of grieving and letting go. There is always an overwhelming feeling of embarrassment and sincere apologies that come from the other person (I know because I’ve been that person before). They are probably thinking, “How could I have been so insensitive?”

It’s times like this when I ponder the depths of forgiveness and grace. And how I so desperately need it daily. I’m off to Holy Family Hospital. Where I will spend the majority of my day feeling like I need to put more clothes on. I will pray that the Lord will clothe me with His loving kindness and fill me with His grace. That should be good enough when my hospital gown flaps in the wind, right?

1 Corinthians 15:10 “But by God’s grace I am what I am, and the grace that He gave me was not without effect…”

