Good Morning, Word

— Dana

There is a moment in the morning when my brain is awake and my eyes are still closed. It is a time when the world is silent and still. The Holy Spirit speaks and I listen. Before there’s a chance to dread my to do list or waste time reflecting on the meandering dreams I experienced that night, a word or phrase is given to me. These words shape my day as I roll them around my mind, searching for the hidden truths that the Lord wants to reveal to my heart. Things like “Set the captives free…”, “Contrite Heart…”, “Shepherd…” and “Grace…” fill my mind in the wee hours of the morning.

However, this morning was the first time I woke up and said, “Good Morning, Word.” I smiled at the concept of calling the Creator of the Universe “Word”. And yet, in the Scriptures, the Word is a powerful force to be reckoned with. God spoke…and the places where there was nothing, something came to be. In Deuteronomy and Matthew, it says “…Man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord.” From a burning bush, God spoke and Moses responded by writing His words down so that we could hear and know the heart of the one Who created us. And because of the Bible, we see time and time again that God’s Word is true and that He keeps His promises.

In my favorite book of the Bible, John poetically describes Jesus as “the Word”…“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through Him all things were made; without Him nothing was made that has been made. In Him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it…The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.” (John 1:1-2, 14)

This morning, the Holy Spirit gave me the word “Word”. I thought it was ridiculous at first, but now I can see the depth of this glorious word. I think I will continue to say, “Good Morning, Word” when I wake up…and not feel silly for saying it.

