Sacred Space

— Dana

For years, I’ve been yearning for a sacred space to call my own. A place in my own home where I can go and find the Divine amongst the ordinary life I’m living. An area that can bring healing to my weary soul or a place to capture my wandering heart. Perhaps a room where I can be still and meet a God that is greater than myself. To hear some “holy whispers” and walk away feeling like I actually have something available to pour out to others.

Right now, I need this space more than ever before.

Because I feel like I’m in the middle of an awakening. Or, more accurately, like I’m in the middle of detoxing everything that’s insulting my soul. The last year I have been slowly walking into the depths of my self. And just recently I decided that it would best if I refused to come out until the Lord can boldly proclaim that my soul is alive and well…rescued and breathing…found and fed…rested and redeemed. In reality, I don’t have the time or energy to fight for much else.

So, think of this blog post as a safety rope tossed out. If too much time goes by, would you kindly shimmy down it and yell out for me…to make sure I’m still alive and fighting for what matters? To make sure I’m not downing in darkness, loneliness or fear? Just to be sure that I’m not lost in the mess of my own messiness?

I’d be forever grateful.

In the mean time, I think I’m going to start creating my scared space. I have no idea what it’s going to look like, but I know it will be really good in this season of my life. A place where I can call my own…where I can get lost and perhaps found.

One thought on “Sacred Space

  1. This reminds me of a friends grandmother. Every day around the same time, she would sit at the kitchen table and place her apron over her head, completely covering herself. For an hour she was not to be disturbed, she was visiting her Lord.
    A woman has got to do what a woman has got to do!

Comments are closed.