Sparrow Tattoo

— Dana

Three years ago, I decided to do some research on the topic of tattoos and its relationship to modern Christianity (here is a link to the “Kangas Manifesto: The (Im)Morality of Tattoos” for your viewing pleasure). The day I completed this study, I decided to get a sparrow tattoo on my foot the day we were debt free.

It’s been a whole month (since our last debt payment). I finally made myself sit down and work a tattoo design. My appointment is on Sunday (eeekk) and I needed to make sure I knew exactly what I wanted before my appointment. This is my “creative” project for the week, and I’ve been enjoying the few minutes I get each day to draw.

Why a sparrow? Well, the first reason is the sparrow symbolizes God’s concern for the most insignificant living things. It’s a reminder that I don’t need to take matters into my own hands and get into debt again because God will provide!!! In the same way God loves and watches over the sparrow, He knows and watches over me.

“Aren’t two sparrows sold for only a penny? But your Father knows when any one of them falls to the ground. Even the hairs on your head are counted. So don’t be afraid! You are worth much more than many sparrows.” Matthew 10:29-31

“I tell you not to worry about your life. Don’t worry about having something to eat, drink, or wear. Isn’t life more than food or clothing? Look at the birds in the sky! They don’t plant or harvest. They don’t even store grain in barns. Yet your Father in heaven takes care of them. Aren’t you worth more than birds? Can worry make you live longer? Why worry about clothes?…God gives such beauty to everything that grows in the fields, even though it is here today and thrown into a fire tomorrow. He will surely do even more for you! Why do you have such little faith? Don’t worry and ask yourselves, “Will we have anything to eat? Will we have anything to drink? Will we have any clothes to wear?” Only people who don’t know God are always worrying about such things. Your Father in heaven knows that you need all of these. But more than anything else, put God’s work first and do what he wants. Then the other things will be yours as well. Don’t worry about tomorrow. It will take care of itself. You have enough to worry about today.” Matthew 6:25-34

Another reason why I decided to get a tattoo of a sparrow is because it symbolizes freedom. Not only am I currently free from the bondage of earthly debt, I am also free from the bondage of sin and death because of what Jesus Christ did on the cross to so that I could live a life free in Him.

“So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.” John 8:36

“If you belong to Christ Jesus, you won’t be punished. The Holy Spirit will give you life that comes from Christ Jesus and will set you free from sin and death. The Law of Moses cannot do this, because our selfish desires make the Law weak. But God set you free when he sent his own Son to be like us sinners and to be a sacrifice for our sin. God used Christ’s body to condemn sin. He did this, so that we would do what the Law commands by obeying the Spirit instead of our own desires.”
Romans 8:1-4

It was really those two reasons why I decided to get a tattoo of a sparrow on my foot. However, this week I found an additional meaning of this tiny bird. A sparrow is a symbol of finding your true love. They are different from most birds…when they find their soul mate they stay with them until their life ends. I just thought this was so cool!!! Aaron and I will be celebrating our nine year anniversary this year. I seem to fall more and more in love with him as the years go by. He is my true love and this sparrow is such a neat representation and reminder of that love and faithfulness. (This little tidbit about the sparrow made me want to get it even more!!!)

And, before I forget, the sparrow is also known for traveling great distances…but always returning home. This was just icing on the cake. In my short 28 years, I’ve traveled to numerous places around the world, and yet I cherish the thought of returning home as soon as my travels are over. It’s also a great reminder that the Lord has put a little piece of heaven in my heart…and it is this heavenly home that I long for as well.

“He puts a little of heaven in our hearts so that we’ll never settle for less.”
2 Corinthians 5:5

So…that’s it!!! Only three more days until I get a sparrow on my foot that will remind me of GOD’S PROVISION, FREEDOM, LOVE + RETURNING HOME. This is the mark of a new beginning and a year of putting my best foot forward…

3 thoughts on “Sparrow Tattoo

  1. Good luck Dana, I have several tats and love them!! I am glad you found something that you will cherise forever and to commemorate your sucess!

    Sue

  2. I found your blog when I was looking for others with Matthew 10:29 tattoos. My name is Dana also and I wanted to get my tattoo for many of the same reasons. I told my dad about finding your blog and joked that it was confirmation, he said it was a coincidence, anyway I thought it was neat.

Comments are closed.