Cinnamon Roll Recipe

— Dana

I seem to have more free time these days. So, I’m on a quest to find hobbies that I actually enjoy doing in my spare time. Last week I decided that baking is something I love doing!!! The last week, our kitchen has been filled with an amazing cinnamon roll aroma…because I was determined to find THE best cinnamon roll recipe. I think I’ve found it!!! I will post it on my blog for your baking enjoyment…

_____________________________________________________

Vanilla Pudding Cinnamon Rolls
from A. Marilyn

Rolls:
½ cup warm water
2 tablespoons active dry yeast
2 tablespoons sugar
3 ½ ounce package instant vanilla pudding
½ cup butter, melted
2 eggs
1 teaspoon salt
6+ cups flour

Filling:
1 cup butter, softened to room temperature
2 cups brown sugar
4 teaspoons cinnamon

Frosting:
8 ounces cream cheese
½ cup butter, softened to room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 cups confectioner’s sugar
2-3 tablespoons milk

In a small bowl combine water, yeast and sugar. Stir until dissolved. Set aside. In large bowl, take pudding box and just mix contents according to the package directions (you don’t need to let it set). Add butter, eggs and salt to the pudding. Mix well. Then add yeast mixture. Blend. Gradually add flour; knead until smooth. Do not overflour the dough! It should be very soft but not sticky. Place in a greased bowl. Cover and let rise until doubled (about an hour). While the dough is rising, take 1 cup butter and melt it. Mix the melted butter with 2 cups brown sugar and 4 teaspoons cinnamon. When the dough is ready, roll it out on floured surface to make a large rectangle. Spread the cinnamon mixture over the top of the dough. Cut approx. 1-1/2″ strips of dough with a pizza cutter. Roll up very tightly. Pinch and seal the end of the roll so it won’t unravel in the oven. Place on lightly greased cookie sheet 2 inches apart (make sure your pan has edges so they don’t fall off when they rise). Cover and let rise until double again (approx. 30 minutes). Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. Remove when they start to turn golden (don’t overbake). Frost warm rolls with cream cheese frosting (combine butter and cream cheese and mix well, then add vanilla and sugar and mix again, then add milk for desired consistency). Makes about 24 very large rolls.

3 thoughts on “Cinnamon Roll Recipe

  1. BTW that last post was from me. I didn’t realize Abby had left my computer logged into a WordPress blogs she contributes to.

Comments are closed.