Stomach Bug

— Dana

Okay, so I thought I was going to die for two weeks when I had strep throat, and after feeling better for only a week during Thanksgiving, the Kangas Family has contracted some nasty stomach bug. I haven’t been sick in years and so a double whammy has been really hard on me this month. Especially since I have a toddler to take care of!!!

Speaking of toddler…Naomi seems to have it the worse…and I can only imagine how she feels since I know I feel like crap (no pun intended). I changed 25 diapers in 12 hours yesterday…and I had to give Naomi 8 baths on top of that. It was a busy day!!! It seemed like as soon as I changed one diaper…took it outside…and washed my hands…I could hear Naomi in the next room saying “Go Poo-Poo”. Lovely. I think I broke an all time record for changing five diapers in five minutes. Looking back, I should have just stuck her on the toilet at that point. We started potty training a few months ago, and it’s days like this that make me wish that she was completely potty trained, so that I don’t have to deal with diapers on top of everyone being sick.

I’ve done more laundry…changed more diapers…and watched more movies this week than any other week in Kangas history. We have had to completely clear our calendar for the last month because I’ve been sick (and the few things I did go to, despite being sick, I probably should have opted out instead of going out). Between that and the snow, I think I am starting to get cabin fever!!! Perhaps the only prescription is more cow bell.

I’m looking forward to next week, when I can actually enjoy a meal without it coming out of both ends (I’m sure you really wanted to know that). And I am thankful that we braved the weather yesterday to go to the doctors…Naomi ended up having an ear infection on top of her viral stomach bug. I think I’m going to go disinfect the whole house today. Just blogging about it makes me want to take a shower and clean the house…too bad I’m too tired to do anything right now.

