Thanks-Filled…Thanks-Giving

— Dana

I feel like I’m getting off easy, without any stress, this Thanksgiving (and we didn’t even stuff the turkey with Prozac). Everyone is bringing food for both our lunch and dinner “potluck” style Thanksgiving meals. My immediate family is coming for lunch…and all Aaron needs to make is pumpkin pie, mashed potatoes and cheesy broccoli. Then, we are having our traditional “Orphan Thanksgiving” for a dinner time celebration…and the only thing left on the list that we could sign-up for was pre-cooked ham and cheesy broccoli. I’m telling you…easy!!!

Since I don’t really enjoy the whole “cooking process”, this makes my heart very grateful that I only have to host while Aaron prepares the few dishes this morning. Actually, Naomi and I are watching a movie to pass the time while Aaron works on our Advent plans (which will start this coming Sunday). I am just filled with thanks as I reflect on the last year and how the Lord really worked in many ways, so we are able to give to others in response to what the Lord has done.

The Lord put this Psalm on my heart this morning, and I thought I would post it for future reference. We have much to be thankful for this morning…Happy Thanksgiving!!!

Psalm 100
“Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth.
Worship the LORD with gladness;
come before him with joyful songs.
Know that the LORD is God.
It is he who made us, and we are his;
we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.
Enter his gates with thanksgiving
and his courts with praise;
give thanks to him and praise his name.
For the LORD is good and his love endures forever;
his faithfulness continues through all generations.

