Fifty Pennies

Fifty Pennies

— Dana

Five years ago, my mom was diagnosed with Colon Cancer.

She was sick for a few years before they found the tumor that blocked her entire colon. That fall, five years ago, I spent my 23rd birthday in the hospital with my mom as she recovered from surgery. I remember holding her hand while she told me the events that happened that particular day. It was at that moment in my life when I realized that I really can’t live without my mom.

So, after I left the hospital that day (back in 2005), I started collecting pennies…one for every year my mom was alive here on this earth. One by one they started appearing…1960, 1961, 1962, 1963. My mom was eventually released from the hospital and the doctors were confident that she would remain cancer free after the surgery. That afternoon I heard some great new, but I continued collecting pennies as my mom recovered and returned to her normal activities. Because, deep down inside, I really didn’t believe the doctors and I was convinced that the cancer would soon return.

This August, five years later, my beautiful mother turned fifty. I decided that I needed to give her the pennies that I’d been collecting for so long. It was good for my heart to give these pennies away. The fifty pennies had literally and figuratively began to feel extremely heavy as I pleaded with the Lord to not take my mom away from me a moment before I was ready…and it was time to let them go. So, I bought a picture frame and glued all fifty pennies to the glass and I gave it to her as a gift at Olive Garden. It was freeing to acknowledge that the Lord had indeed healed my mom, and that I could rest in the knowledge that the Lord knows the exact moment my mom will be called to her heavenly home.

“What I am saying, dear brothers and sisters, is that our physical bodies cannot inherit the Kingdom of God. These dying bodies cannot inherit what will last forever. But let me reveal to you a wonderful secret. We will not all die, but we will all be transformed! It will happen in a moment, in the blink of an eye, when the last trumpet is blown. For when the trumpet sounds, those who have died will be raised to live forever. And we who are living will also be transformed. For our dying bodies must be transformed into bodies that will never die; our mortal bodies must be transformed into immortal bodies. Then, when our dying bodies have been transformed into bodies that will never die, this Scripture will be fulfilled:

“Death is swallowed up in victory.
O death, where is your victory?
O death, where is your sting?”

For sin is the sting that results in death, and the law gives sin its power. But thank God! He gives us victory over sin and death through our Lord Jesus Christ. So, my dear brothers and sisters, be strong and immovable. Always work enthusiastically for the Lord, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless.” 1 Corinthians 15:50-58

Dinner at Olive Garden


Mini Golf at Wonderland

Opa Dave at Opa’s Pizza

[Opa = Grandpa]

2 thoughts on “Fifty Pennies

  1. It makes my heart burst with so much love that you still have your momma with you. No one can replace the love that a mother can give. I heart the 50 pennies idea. You have such a plethera of awesome ideas.

  2. Yah…I totally cried like a big baby when I wrote that blog post…and when I made my mom’s gift. Actually, I am not sure when I am not crying these days. I will have to make a special note of that…

    Dana Kangas

Comments are closed.