Filling in the Gaps

— Dana

A few years ago, I broke half my tooth and found myself sitting at the dentist’s office. It didn’t cause any damage and all I needed was a filling to replace the missing part of the tooth. Remarkably, I didn’t damage or expose any nerves on that particular tooth and it didn’t require a replacement or a root canal. The little tooth resides in last place…on the top right of my mouth.

After enjoying a whole 48 hours of healthful bliss, Murphy decided to knock on my door. The filling fell out right before dinner this evening…on a Saturday evening…and now I have to wait to go to the dentist to get it fixed. Why do these sort of things have to happen on the weekend? I am hoping to get in early Monday morning…but we shall see.

I decided to look up the word “tooth” and “teeth” in the Bible to see what Godly wisdom I could acquire while my mouth continues to be sensitive to hot and cold items this evening. It was entertaining and enlightening, to say the least (lots of “gnashing” going on). However, this one was my favorite…I will meditate on it until I can go see the dentist this week. Maybe I will have it memorized by then…

“Confidence in an unfaithful man in time of trouble is like a broken tooth or a foot out of joint.” Proverbs 25:19

…and I couldn’t help but laugh at this one. Maybe Aaron will serenade me with it this evening. Lucky!!!

“You are beautiful, my darling, beautiful beyond words. Your eyes are like doves behind your veil. Your hair falls in waves, like a flock of goats winding down the slopes of Gilead. Your teeth are as white as sheep, recently shorn and freshly washed. Your smile is flawless, each tooth matched with its twin.” Song of Solomon 4:1-2

