Relationships + Communication

β€” Dana

Personal Email.
Work Email.
IM/Chat.
Texting.
Cell Phones.
Home Phones.
Work Phones.
Skype.
e-cards.
Blogs.
Facebook.
Myspace.
Websites.
Snail-mail.

I realized this week that everyone has their “preferred” form of communication (mine being email because of time restrictions, a screaming baby and a current defective ear), but not everyone prefers to use the same thing to communicate effectively and efficiently. Since I don’t have a cell phone, communication has been severed from a number of people that prefer texting as their favorite form of communication. I also know a number of people that don’t use email to communicate feelings or thoughts because they don’t want their messages to be received in the wrong way. It’s great that we have so many options available when sending messages to one another, but are they all really necessary?

I’ve been especially frustrated because I feel like no one is listening to me. I try to call someone…and they don’t return my call. So, I send an email…and I hear nothing back and assume that they didn’t receive my message. I don’t have a cell phone, otherwise I would try to send them a text message. All this to say that I am having a hard time with the fact that there are “preferred methods” of communication and I don’t have the time to currently figure out which one I should use in a give situation for a specific person.

Maybe I will learn the art of smoke signaling…it could improve my relationships.

2 thoughts on “Relationships + Communication

  1. I totally understand where you are coming from. My preferred method is texting, I have to say, I never answer my phone. I’ll just text the caller back “what’s up?”. I have a land line, but have yet to get the physical phone to use it!
    Your best option in my opinion, is to get one of those non-contracted call phone that have texting. I’m not sure I could recommend one for you but, I have a contract with sprint and the plan I have comes with unlimited EVERYTHING, including web for $60. That way you can email, text and call. Depending on what phone you choose, you may even be able to finally send those smoke signals πŸ™‚ lol

  2. Hey, I am a txter too for direct questions or mindless banter. Relationships are best cultivated for me via email or phone. Better in person but the restraint of having 3+ kids makes it hard for me to be on the phone or out visiting people the way I would like to.

Comments are closed.