Could You Repeat That?

— Dana


“So to keep me from becoming conceited because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to harass me, to keep me from becoming conceited. Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:7-10

Sometimes, I wish I could just donate my body to science. I think today would be a good day to sign-up and do that. I’m sure the scientists and doctors would get a kick out of this “tent” of mine. As soon as one issue is resolved…another thing is waiting right around the corner. Sheesh…you would think I was an 80 year old woman by the way I talk about my ailments.

Recently, I have been struggling to figure out what’s causing extreme pain in my missing gallbladder area. But, lo and behold, my ear is begging for attention. Seriously? Take a number, ear!!! Sometime back in March, an ant crawled in my ear while I was sleeping. I could hear it “talking” (or whatever it does with it’s pinchers) and rustling around in my ear hair. It pretty much FREAKED ME OUT!!! My head kept shaking involuntarily back and forth. So, I ran into the bathroom and grabbed some saline solution so I could spray it in my ear. It was the longest 5 minutes of my life. The ant finally crawled out…and I squished his little body on the bathroom counter (I’m pretty sure he will never make that mistake again). Someone told me that I should spread his guts on my bed as a warning to all the other ants. Looking back, I should have done it…I may have felt a little better about the whole situation.

Now, six months later, my ear is still bothering me. I think between the ant and the saline solution, I may have damaged part of my ear. It doesn’t hurt. It’s just incredibly annoying. To be honest, it is often over-shadowed by the pain in my stomach…so I rarely notice it…until I have to go to bed. It pops, cracks and sounds like a speaker that has been turned up too high (so I can only assume that there is fluid behind my ear drum). My own heart beat and voice will make my ear buzz like there’s a bee inside my head during the day. I can’t listen to music or talk on the phone without feeling incredibly frustrated…and my daughter (who likes to cry most of the day) has this special scream that eventually delivers a migraine after a while because my ear can’t handle the volume. At this point, I don’t think I am losing any of my hearing…but I assume that that could be an issue if I don’t get my ear checked soon. I think Aaron finally talked me into seeing an Ear, Nose & Throat doctor today…he seems to think that I’m starting to lose it. I don’t see why crying everyday is an issue…Naomi seems to enjoy it.

This afternoon I set out to find a video that mimics the sound I hear in my ear. I actually found a video that’s identical to what I hear when I am trying to fall asleep at night. It made me laugh. The first 30 seconds of the song is what I usually hear when I lay down…and the rest is just for pure entertainment (you will have to watch the video to understand why it is funny).

So today I will rest in the knowledge that His grace is sufficient during this time of waiting…and I will pray that cotton balls in my ear will help buffer the noise. I just hope everyone forgives me for saying “huh…can you repeat that?” for the next month…


2 thoughts on “Could You Repeat That?

  1. I’m sorry to hear that things health wise have gotten worse. I can’t imagine how frustating it must be to have this constant noise in your ear and not being able to hear others.

    I’m sorry that things with Naomi have not gotten better. I will be praying for you and your family.

  2. I don’t know if “worse” is the right word…just “something else”. It is pretty frustrating, but the Lord is gracious and I have better days than others. Yesterday just happened to be one of the worse days. Today is better. Naomi is much more content today. Her 3 year molars are coming in a year and a half early…so that is the main source of her frustration lately. However, I totally covet your prayers.

    Dana Kangas

Comments are closed.