I Am Blessed

— Dana

“Come, let us sing to the Lord! Let us shout joyfully to the Rock of our salvation. Let us come to him with thanksgiving. Let us sing psalms of praise to him. For the Lord is a great God, a great King above all gods.” Psalm 95:1-3

Sometimes, I need to be quiet and just think of all the things I am thankful for. Last night I spent some time being still before the Lord in humble contemplation. I am truly blessed.

Everyone in my family is happy and healthy right now.

With the Lord’s help, I think I have successfully managed to figure out what foods were making me sick. For the last two months I have felt great!!! Once I took pork, beef, eggs, dairy and soy out of my diet…my pain went away and I have found some extra energy to sustain me throughout my day.

It brings me joy that, despite her excessive energy and temper tantrums, I am thankful that Naomi is healthy enough to be a normal, feisty toddler. She is has such a sweet heart. Just last night at Small Group she was saying “Bye Bye Sugar” to everyone as they left. How cute is that?

My dearest husband is such a blessing and is a source of great encouragement to me. When we found out a few weeks ago that soy was actually dangerous to my body, he immediately went to the internet and found out how to make rice milk. I have really been enjoying all the 64 oz. of delicious rice milk that he slaved to prepare for me.

The last month, we have had the best time visiting with friends and family that live out of town. Just this week, we went out to my parent property near Newport and my sister and I took a walk around the lake. We had a great conversation about life and all the things that have happened the last year. My immediate family seems to be mellowing out and finding a new norm.

Overall, I really can’t complain. Aaron and I are just a few months away from being debt free (Baby Step 2 almost complete), and we are making progress on his 30th Birthday plans (I really struggle with party planning). But the year is really shaping up to be a great one…and I look forward to all the blessings that have yet to be discovered in 2010.

