Withered Grass

— Dana

My yard looks like crap today.

I forgot to water the grass for two days…and now it’s crying out…for water to quench the thirst of it’s parched roots. When I was leaving the house today, rolling my eyes at the sight of my pitiful yard, the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart.

For three months, the Lord brought rain to water the soil. My grass was thriving. We had a hard time keeping up with the chore of mowing the lush green blades of grass that covered our front and back yards. The rain eventually stopped and the harsh sun told the clouds to step aside because summer had finally arrived. For a few weeks, the grass shouted “hooray” and continued to grow. All of a sudden, my lawn took a turn for the worst. Too much sun day after day…and now there lay withered, brown blades of grass.

“How did this happen, Lord?” I protested this morning…eventhough I saw signs that things needed to change weeks ago. “Let me teach you about My ways…because your ways are not always My ways.” He continued to speak to my heart by saying, “I showed you what your grass needed to survive. For months you watched as I did my part to water and prepare you for a time when you would need to do it on your own. When the time came to water the lawn yourself, you didn’t remember my instructions. The same thing has happened in other areas of your life. I took you by the hand and led you to places I wanted you to go. When it was time to try for yourself, you forgot my instructions.”

Ouch.

I realized this morning that it would have been less work to just water the lawn for a few minutes everyday. Now it is going to take weeks to encourage growth to happen once more. The same is true in my spiritual life. I had been doing fine and now I find myself as parched on the inside as the grass is outside. There had been warning signs in my spiritual life as well…and I chose to ignore them. The Lord will have to take me by the hand again and gently remind me why it is important to do some of the things He has called me to do. My job is to not get lazy…or let a day go by without watering my soul with His Living Word. Because when the harshness of life came rolling by, after only a few days I too have become withered grass.

“For you have been born again, but not to a life that will quickly end. Your new life will last forever because it comes from the eternal, living word of God. As the Scriptures say,

“People are like grass; their beauty is like a flower in the field. The grass withers and the flower fades. But the word of the Lord remains forever.”

And that word is the Good News that was preached to you. 1 Peter 1:23-25 (New Living Translation)

2 thoughts on “Withered Grass

  1. Hey there !, just a short note to swing by and express kudos for your insights on this page. I somehow ended up here just after reading through up on a lot of celeb exercise stuff over on Bing… guess I lost track of what precisely I was initially doing! In any case I’ll be back in the future to read your blogposts down the road. Thanks!

Comments are closed.