Little Sister

—Dana

I ran across some photos of my sister yesterday. As I sat there, staring at the two photos on my computer, they made me realize how much I miss her. The last year has been challenging, and for whatever reason Danise doesn’t want to talk to me. Every once in a while, my mom will share a few highlights of what she’s doing…but I never hear them directly from Danise.

It’s hard.

Especially since we use to share a bedroom. From the moment my mom brought her home, I knew where she was and what she was doing. Now, I feel like she has left me in the dust for a group of people that don’t know her. I didn’t realize how much this bothered me until I watched “Raising Helen” a few weeks ago. I couldn’t help but feel like the overbearing older sister (that was played by Joan Cusack). Sometimes I wish I could be the younger sister…that never has a care in the world. After I finished the movie and wiped the tears from my eyes, I think I had a better understanding and appreciation for my sister.

I just wish she knew how much I love and miss her.

2 thoughts on “Little Sister

  1. I’m so sorry to hear that you and your sister are distant. I know how that can be difficult. I have one sister that I don’t talk to at all. Sometimes I wish things between each us was different.

    I know that whatever reasons she may have for being distant, it will pass. There will be a time when she will want to reach out to you and reconnect. I will pray for your relationship.

    Consider that getting divorced can be difficult and being around someone that may have something that you may want but don’t have can be painful, especially if your sisters. You and Aaron have been very blessed in your lives with having a close marriage and then finally having Naomi.

    My older sister and my younger sister once were living together and my older sister had been wanting to have a child but wasn’t able to. My younger sister got pregnant and it made it very difficult to be around her. There were other problems between them but they ended up moving into different apartments because my older sister could not understand why God would allow my younger sister to have a child so easily while she could not.

    Just a thought.

  2. Oh my goodness Dana, I am very sorry to hear this. I have not been keeping up on my blog, let alone reading anyone elses so this is all news to me. Keep you chin up, I am sure your sister will come around eventually. It is probably hard for her to see your marriage and your life as a whole after what she has gone through this past year. Still doesn’t make it right or any easier, unfortunately.

Comments are closed.