Sleep

Everyone in the Kangas household got 10+ hours of sleep last night. Let me repeat myself…10 hours. I can’t remember the last time all three of us received that much sleep, let alone all at the same time. We put Naomi to bed at 7:30 pm and then Aaron and I proceeded to drag our tired bodies to bed. Aaron woke-up at 5:30 am…and Naomi and I slept in until 7:30 am. You read that right, both Naomi and I slept for 12 hours. That is a total of 34 hours of sleep for the Kangas Family!!!

I can’t begin to tell you how amazing we all felt this morning.

I started to think about the benefits of rest and I wondered if I’ve been missing out on some much needed “restorative sleep”. With all the things that I like to get done in a given day, Aaron and I have found ourselves sleeping about 5-6 hours at night. Well, after doing a little bit of reading I think the amount of sleep we’ve been giving ourselves has got to change!!!

Sleep can help you reduce stress and depression, prevent cancer, help you lose weight and it also helps your memory. What more can a girl ask for? I don’t know if I can keep up a 12 hour sleep schedule, but I think I want to up my 5 hours that I allot myself in a given evening.

Good night…

http://longevity.about.com/od/lifelongenergy/tp/healthy_sleep.htm

