Confessions of an Emotional Eater

The verdict is in and the scale clearly states that I am an emotional eater. Deleting my Facebook page has had some adverse effects on my body. The most noticeable is the recent 10 pound weight gain. It took me 4 months to lose that 10 pounds, and it quickly found me this week. One. Week. That’s all it took.

Hello. My name is Dana. I am an emotional eater.

When I’m upset I eat. When I’m stressed I eat. When I’m worried I eat. And let’s be clear, these are the times I have uncontrollable urges to eat junk (candy, cookies, ice cream)…all the stuff I know is bad for me. I could be eating healthy for months, then something upsets me and it’s all over.

The crazy thing about being an emotional eater is that I know that eating isn’t going to fix the reason why I’m upset, but I do it anyway. In fact, I know that eating the junk that I’m craving is actually going to contribute to making me feel worse, but I do it anyway.  The funny thing is I even know that once I start it’s going to become a vicious cycle of craving, eating and then feeling guilty about it again. Even so, I still do it.

Isn’t the definition of insanity doing the same thing over and over again but expecting different results? Maybe so, but I am still trying to not be too hard on myself when this happens. I sometimes think it’s worse when I try to fight the urge to eat through my emotions…it just seems to make my cravings even stronger.

So, here’s to learning more about myself, and making wiser choices this year…

***There has been some great things that have come about in my life after deleting my Facebook page, but that will have to wait for another day. I think I need to go have another cookie first…

2 thoughts on “Confessions of an Emotional Eater

  1. My name is Robyn and I am an emotional starver. The guilt over putting something in my mouth is so overwhelming that I can not eat without pressure to do. (either in social circumstances, eating out, or diner with the family.) It has not made me skinny, instead it has shut down my metabolism and created hormone shortages that require the use of antidepressants. ( an interesting side effect of loss of appetite and insomnia!) I am wishing you luck and prayers in your jurney, you are not alone.

Comments are closed.