Five O’Clock Club

It seems like I’ve been hearing the same thing over and over again these days (I blame it on the Holy Spirit). After 27 years of living on this earth, I have finally decided to wake up at 5AM and have a regular time with my husband and the Lord. Call me crazy, but every person I’ve come in contact with that can be described as a “spiritual mentor” gets up early…everyday. Through a long line of historical saints, they all say that their “spiritual” and “non-spiritual” success in life can be contributed to their consistant relationship with the Lord…early in the morning…everyday.

Welcome to the 5 O’Clock Club, Kangas Family.

This “getting up early” thing is another change that I’m making this year. Right now, it really sucks. I am not really cut out to wake up before 7AM. However, I want to know the Lord in a more intimate way and experience peace that “surpasses all understanding”. Only by abiding in Jesus can I bear fruit. Apart from Him I can do nothing (John 15:4-5). The Lord has promised, in His Word, that He has given me everything that I need in this life to pursue Godliness. (Thank goodness…because I obviously haven’t been doing a great job by myself the last 27 years.) With that in mind, I know I must look to Him and depend upon that power that He provides (2 Peter 1:3-8)

Did I mention that getting up early sucks? Because it does…I just want to be clear about that. I also don’t want to appear like I am super “spiritual” or something. I am having a really difficult time with this new change in my life (just ask my husband). When the alarm goes off…the sinning begins. But God is so gracious and we have been experiencing a tremendous amount of blessing in our hearts this last week. Aaron and I feel closer as a married couple and we really feel like we are communing with the God of the Universe in a deeper way than we’ve ever experienced before.

Praise God.

However, our daughter is one, and she has been sleeping through the night for the last 7 months. I feel like I am reverting back to the time when I got up every 3 hours to feed her. My brain keeps telling me…”NO…GO BACK TO SLEEP”. However, my heart keeps saying “spend time at the Lord’s feet”. I am praying that this battle will slowly fade and I will settle in my new “norm”.

Since getting up early is really desire of both our hearts (and we really feel like the Lord is calling us to draw nearer to Him), here are a few things that we have changed to make this an easier transition…

1. We moved our alarm clock to the other side of the room.

2. We set our alarm clock to 5AM and keep it at the same time everyday.

3. We never, never, never hit the snooze button or lie back down to catch a few more winks. The second our alarm clock goes off…that is the most critical moment in getting up early. (Okay…I am not going to lie…I have been hitting the snooze button. Tomorrow is a new day, right?)

4. Be prepared to feel absolutely miserable for about 10-15 minutes. The misery always turns to pure gladness when we actually experience the delight of meeting with God…and we get to reap the benefits the rest of the day. The 15 minutes of misery is certainly worth the 15+ hours of peace and productivity the rest of the day.

5. Just proceed directly to the bathroom and take a shower…then get dressed and get ready for the day. (I’ve tried to end my time with the Lord by taking a shower and I fall asleep praying every time.)

6. We purchased a coffee pot that has a timer. Set the timer to start at 4:45AM so that it is ready when we get out of the shower.

7. Find a reading plan. This is the one thing that keeps me focused from day to day when I don’t really know where to start.

I keep telling myself that my body will eventually respond to a standard wake-up time. In other words…I hear it gets easier. (Really, I’m still waiting for it to get easier.) My hope is not in this “strategy” but in my Savior. I am resting in His much needed grace to actually rise early and seek Him!!!

Anyway, I just thought I would share…because I am giving up “the internet” for Lent and time is running out. But, that is for another blog post…

One thought on “Five O’Clock Club

Comments are closed.