translationparty.com

This is a completely useless, but entertaining website I just found. You enter a phrase, and it takes that phrase, translates into Japanese (via some automated translation service), and then takes that Japanese and translates it back into English, and back into Japanese…. and so forth, until it “reaches equilibrium”. And by that, it means that you get the same thing with the auto translate. Much hilarity ensues. For example, I took the Dylan lyric: “How many roads must a man walk down before you can call him a man?” And the following is the progression of translations (Japanese taken out, since I can’t read it anyway.)

How many roads must a man walk down before you can call him a man?
Ago, a man must walk down a road and how you can call him a man?
Ago, a man, or you can call the man and how he must go down the road?
Or man, can you call a man, he must go or the way?
Or men, or him, or you can call the people you need to go the way?
And men, or his, or you can call the people you need to go your way or not.
And men, or my way or you can call the people you need to move.
Man, you can call the person you need to move to me.
The man, who can call you need to move to me.
You can call the man I need to move?
How can you call a person that I need to move?
How can I do to call the people you need to move?
To call a person that needed to move and how?
Move the person to call the method necessary?
  1. How many roads must a man walk down before you can call him a man?
  2. Ago, a man must walk down a road and how you can call him a man?
  3. Ago, a man, or you can call the man and how he must go down the road?
  4. Or man, can you call a man, he must go or the way?
  5. Or men, or him, or you can call the people you need to go the way?
  6. And men, or his, or you can call the people you need to go your way or not.
  7. And men, or my way or you can call the people you need to move.
  8. Man, you can call the person you need to move to me.
  9. The man, who can call you need to move to me.
  10. You can call the man I need to move?
  11. How can you call a person that I need to move?
  12. How can I do to call the people you need to move?
  13. To call a person that needed to move and how?
  14. Move the person to call the method necessary?
I think my favorite is “Man, you can call the person you need to move to me.”
