Love

ā€” Aaron

There’s so little real love in this world. There’s a lot of substitutes for love, some looking like love, some just taking it’s spot. Here’s a few:

  • Hate
  • Greed
  • Lust
  • Jealousy
  • Like
  • Politeness
  • Niceness
  • Selfishness
  • Mild interest
  • Romance
  • Zeal

My biggest problem with this is I’m not immune to substituting stuff for love. Love is the best thing ever, if I’m to believe the Scriptures, Pop music, Romantic comedies, Poetry or just about anything. I think there’s some screwy definitions of love going around (and not being Real Love, just some substitute), but the goal of all those things is right: Love is worth having. It’s worth giving. It’s worth your whole life.

So why do we settle for a substitute? I think it’s because true love is really hard – it requires us to consider others above ourselves. That’s a pretty steep challenge, when you consider it.

Also, you consider the commandment, “Love thy neighbor as thyself,” and you realize your neighbor is every one of the other six billion people on earth, you get a little overwhelmed. But just because it’s overwhelming and difficult, doesn’t mean that the Scriptures, Poetry and all that are wrong about how good it is to Love. They’re right. Loving is what we’re meant for. I’m looking to love more than I have, ever. That’s kind of a resolution. How? How do I love more? Where? Who? When?

One thought on “Love

Comments are closed.