Snow. Exhaustion. Tears.

— Dana

Aaron and I ventured outside yesterday. It was beautiful…clear, blue skies…and we had over 2-feet of “light, fluffy” snow on the ground.

Our mission: dig out the car.

I think Aaron was starting to get cabin fever on Saturday…being stuck in the house for 4 days does something to a man’s brain. After 4 hours of shoveling, Aaron and I had a beautifully cleared parking area in front of our house and every inch of sidewalk was scraped down to the cement.

We woke up this morning to find 3 more inches of snow…and the snow plow had come down our road (with it’s blade directed toward our side of the street). Currently, our car is buried in a foot of heavy ice chunks…and our parking area looks like it was untouched by our shoveling efforts yesterday.

We ate breakfast and ventured outside again this morning…bound and determined to clear the ice chunks away from our car. But after 20 minutes, my body just could not go on. I’m 34 weeks pregnant and I hit my “wall” of exhaustion quickly this morning. So, here I sit…in tears because I can’t help my husband…who has a really sore back and is just as frustrated as I am with the current state of our parking area.

I think this is the first time I am physically limited in helping Aaron. It breaks my heart to watch him work so hard outside…from the warmth and comfort of my home. I think I’ll try to do some work inside…once my body recuperates from the cold.

