Our Story

Aaron and Dana (Prom 2000)

— Dana

Aaron and I will be celebrating our 6-year anniversary next month, and so I thought I would blog about how we met and got engaged!!!

HOW WE MET

Our first date was on May 1, 1999 (Junior Prom).

It all began one fateful day in the fall of 1996. Aaron was a goatee wearin’, guitar playin’, RHS junior…and I was a new, geeky freshman at Riverside. During the first week of school, I noticed that guitar playin’ hunk in the hall. From that point on, I was convinced that I would marry Aaron one day…but he had no idea (it didn’t help that I failed to talk to him while we were in High School). Two years rolled by and Aaron sadly graduated…and I was stuck in High School for 2 more years. I had given up all hope of ever marrying or seeing Aaron again. Until, a few months before my Junior Prom, Aaron started attending Chattaroy Community Church (the church I had been attending since I was a freshman). Somehow, I found whatever guts I had, and I asked Aaron to my Junior Prom after church one day…it was only one week before Prom!!! He said yes…and I was so embarrassed for even asking him in the first place, I left the church building without giving him any details of the event (like where Prom was going to be, what time we were meeting, where we were meeting, what I was wearing…you know…the important stuff). It wasn’t until the next day when our mutual friend, Devin Busse, found me in the halls at school and told me that Aaron needed some details if he was going to go to Prom with me. I didn’t have a phone at my house (it’s really long story…I will have to blog about that later), so I called Aaron from school before I left that day. My Junior Prom finally came around and we met in Deer Park so we could drive out to Tito’s in Coeur d’Alene with Dana and Alric. After dinner, we boarded “The Mish-an-Nock” cruise ship and danced the night away. That was our first date…and I never let him go after that!!!

THE ENGAGEMENT

Our engagement was announced on May 6, 2000 (Senior Prom).

It was the day of My Senior Prom…and the afternoon had been quite trying for both of us!!! My hair wouldn’t cooperate with the stylist, Aaron’s car broke down (thus, forcing me to drive my dirty VW Rabbit)…and we needed to get ready at 24 Hour Fitness due to lack of time. We were, however, able to meet our friends on time for pictures at Manito Park, and had a fabulous dinner at the Steam Plant Grill. After dinner, we made our way down the street to “The Cameo” and enjoyed our evening with our closest friends. At one point in the evening, I couldn’t find Aaron for one of the slow dances. Right before the song ended, I spotted him standing along the wall with a group of his friends. I grabbed a hold of Aaron and we made our way back to the dance floor. Not two seconds later, the DJ called Aaron’s name and told him to make his way up to the front of the room. As soon as Aaron was up on the stage, the DJ called out for me as well…and I was really confused at this point. As I made my way through the parted dance floor (like some cheesy 80’s movie) and stood up on stage with Aaron, everyone immediately stopped to watch in amazement as Aaron got down on one knee. He said, in the microphone so everyone could hear, “Dana, will you marry me?” A hush fell over the crowd as they waited for me to respond to his question. I looked at him, not knowing what to say (because I thought he was going to dedicate a song), I said yes without hesitation. Everyone went wild and people from outside came in the building to see what all the fuss was about. Once everyone stopped giving us hugs and grabbing my hand to see the ring, we danced to our song “If I Had A Million Dollars” by Barenaked Ladies. To tell you the truth, it was a total shock to my system, but it was also the coolest thing that has ever happened to me. I was 17 years old, one month away from graduation…and I was engaged!!! It was pretty sweet.

In the end…Aaron and I finished College…and got married a week after graduation at the age of 19 and 21 years old. It has been neat to grow-up and mature with my best friend. I look forward to celebrating every year with the man of my dreams!!!

Barenaked Ladies
If I Had A Million Dollars

If I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
I’d buy you a house
(I would buy you a house)
If I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
I’d buy you furniture for your house
(Maybe a nice chesterfield or an ottoman)
And if I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you a K-Car
(A nice Reliant automobile)
If I had a million dollars I’d buy your love

If I had a million dollars
I’d build a tree fort in our yard
If I had million dollars
You could help, it wouldn’t be that hard
If I had million dollars
Maybe we could put like a little tiny fridge in there somewhere
You know, we could just go up there and hang out
Like open the fridge and stuff
There would foods laid out for us
With little pre-wrapped sausages and things

They have pre-wrapped sausages but they don’t have pre-wrapped bacon
Well, can you blame ’em
Uh, yeah

If I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you a fur coat
(But not a real fur coat that’s cruel)
And if I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you an exotic pet
(Yep, like a lamb or an emu)
And if I had a million dollars
(If I had a a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you John Merrick’s remains
(Ooh, all them crazy elephant bones)
And If I had a million dollars I’d buy your love

If I had a million dollars
We wouldn’t have to walk to the store
If I had a million dollars
We’d take a limousine ’cause it costs more
If I had a million dollars
We wouldn’t have to eat Kraft Dinner
But we would eat Kraft Dinner
Of course we would, we’d just eat more
And buy really expensive ketchups with it
That’s right, all the fanciest dijon ketchups!
Mmmmmm, Mmmm-Hmmm

If I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you a green dress
(But not a real green dress, that’s cruel)
And if I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you some art
(A Picasso or a Garfunkel)
If I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you a monkey
(Haven’t you always wanted a monkey)

If I had a million dollars
I’d buy your love

If I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
If I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
If I had a million dollars…
I’d be rich

