20 Random Facts

— Dana

1. I hate shopping…for anything.

2. I have a growth on my thyroid, and it will turn into a tumor someday…so I have to get an ultrasound of my thyroid every 4-6 months to watch the progress. So far so good…

3. Showers are my favorite thing in the world. I just like to stand in there for hours…especially when it’s really hot water!!!

4. I struggled with depression for a number of years, and I have learned to fight the temptation of feeling sorry for myself. I had to see with my own eyes that depression is a very self-focused state of mind…and it is a daily fight to be Christ and others focused instead of being so self-focused.

5. For some reason, when I eat popcorn and soda it makes my stomach hurt. So, I try to stay away from both of them.

6. I have grey hair now. I am officially old.

7. I am madly in love with my husband. He is more than I could ever hope for…and I am unworthy of his love and affection. Aaron is a great example of how Christ loves people…

8. I am a stay-at-home wife…and I love it!!! Sometimes, I struggle with being at home and I think I should go back to working in an office…but that is not what the Lord is calling me to do now. I work from home (doing finances for people and designing whenever the Lord sends me work) and I take care of my husband and my house. It’s good…and I am learning to be content with that…

9. I was in a really bad bike accident when I was in the 4th grade…and that is when I stopped growing. I was suppose to be 6 inches taller, but the doctor didn’t notice my lack of growth until it was too late to give me growth hormones. Oh well…

10. I wear a shoe size 7-1/2 and 8 (depending on the shoe). I sort of have freakishly large feet for my height…

11. I love Jesus. Sometimes I don’t act like I should in this world…but by His grace I am learning to be more considerate of others and love people like Christ does.

12. I love blogging. It helps me work out my thoughts and feelings. I am surprised how many people read my blogs…because I write for myself and to remind my heart how the Lord is working in my life. It is very encouraging when I hear that my blogs inspire people to pursue Christ and have an authentic relationship with Him!!! I write for His glory and not for my own…so anything I write is from the same Holy Spirit that encourages my heart and the people who read my blogs. God is so amazing…

13. I love sleeping. I wish I had more time to nap…

14. I have one tattoo. I am thinking about getting another one…but I will wait until I find something I can live with forever.

15. I really want to be a mom, but I am content now…and I’m ready to wait until the Lord’s perfect timing. I apparently have a few things that I need to work through in my heart before I can care for one of God’s beautiful creations…

16. I hate laundry.

17. I love wearing glasses without lenses.

18. I had an eyebrow ring once…it left my face one fateful day when I was changing my shirt for work…and now I have a nice scar on my eyebrow. I have a bald spot and I have to do a “comb over” every morning. 🙂

19. I secretly want to be an astronaut…but the other day I realized that I probably wouldn’t stick to that desire once I (somehow) experienced weightlessness. So, I think I just want to defy gravity…

20. I get really angry when I see mushrooms growing in my lawn. They gross me out!!!

