Things On My Mind Today

— Dana

••• I was thinking about Job’s friends in the Bible today…and how I do the exact same thing that they do. Give unsolicited advice. For some reason, I feel like I need to give an answer to anyone that is going through some sort of struggle. Who do I think I am anyway? Do I think I really “know it all”? Sometimes I just need to shut my mouth so God can do the work through people’s hearts…it might take longer for them to get out of their struggle, but over time it will stick better because they came to the conclusion and heard from God. When I re-visited the book of Job to see what advice his friends had to offer, I couldn’t help but to agree with all the things they were saying. But in the end, the Lord rebuked them all. I don’t think I want to be rebuked by the Lord like that. So, I think I will learn to listen more.

••• Why is a 70 year old lady working at a fast food restaurant like Arby’s? Shouldn’t she be retired…collecting Social Security…or at least not working. For some reason, it just doesn’t seem fair.

••• Over the years, I have become a pessimist. Please, Lord, change that in me…I want the “joy of the Lord” to flow out of my pores…

••• Puppies are more work that I thought…but more joy than I ever could have imagined. Perhaps, I’m not ready to have children just yet. The Lord has some more work to do on my heart…

••• Sometimes I don’t think it’s fair that I have all these health problems that make it REALLY difficult to lose weight. It doesn’t matter if I work out all the time and have a Dietitian tell me what I can and can’t eat…or if I eat ice cream for every meal and watch movies all day on the couch. I still gain weight at a steady rate. I have been able to maintain for the last 6 months…but I really need to lose 50 lbs to be at the top of my BMI. After going to Weight Watcher’s today, I was really frustrated. I spend money (that I really don’t have to spend) to go to these meetings, and I am just not losing any weight. I am only down 5 lbs after 2 months. I am going to give it another 4 months and I will re-evaluate to see if I still want to do this…

••• I hate the word “fair”…I really should take it out of my vocabulary. I noticed the other day that I overuse that word. “That’s not fair”…who says? Me. According to my “fair scale”…a lot of things are just not fair.

••• Planning a wedding is a lot of work.

••• I love my husband…he is more amazing than words can express. I am thankful for his love and commitment to our relationship.

••• This picture made me laugh really hard today…

••• What would it take for God to show you that you’re wrong?

••• I am not a big fan of “Fiction” writing. It’s not that I don’t read…I love reading. But, if I am going to take the time to read something (other than the Bible) it’s usually a book that will move my soul or change my character to be more Christ like. That is why I usually stick to non-fiction books. Just a personal preference…and I do read fiction books on occasion.

••• I love being apart of my church. When friends of mine are feeling lonely or down, it’s hard for me to not get excited and “attempt” to get them to come to church. Because the biggest way I feel connected is in belonging to an open-minded church community that is more than just a country club, but an actual family…a place where people are valued and accepted no matter their background, political persuasion, etc.. A place that is not inwardly focused, but compelled to move out into the world…not in order to enhance our reputation or increase attendance or “sell” God, but because we firmly believe we are called to serve and love people.

••• Whenever I think about Scott and Jeannie…and all the miracles that the Lord has done through their experience with Jeannie’s rare cancer…I am usually speechless. At first I thought I was being apathetic…but now I realize that I was just speechless because of the blessings that the Lord poured out over their family and our little church. What an amazing God we worship!!!

••• School shootings infuriate me.

••• This quote has been rolling around in my mind lately: “It’s hard for some people to imagine a world where they don’t have to manipulate someone into thinking the way they want them to think.” Ultimately, I shouldn’t be coercing people into giving “the right answer”…I should simply be willing to ask the questions, and then be prepared to listen to the answers.

••• I just learned from a MySpace friend that if I don’t re-post the word “GOD” as a bulletin, then I have, in essence, denied the Lord. It made me think about deleting my myspace page because I was so irritated. Well…I didn’t delete my page. But I almost did. Almost.

••• I am finally in the New Testament!!! Not that the Old Testament was bad…I just needed Jesus to finally come into the picture after so much doom and gloom.

••• This has been a great verse for me this week: James 1:19-27 (The Message) “Post this at all the intersections, dear friends: Lead with your ears, follow up with your tongue, and let anger straggle along in the rear. God’s righteousness doesn’t grow from human anger. So throw all spoiled virtue and cancerous evil in the garbage. In simple humility, let our gardener, God, landscape you with the Word, making a salvation-garden of your life. Don’t fool yourself into thinking that you are a listener when you are anything but, letting the Word go in one ear and out the other. Act on what you hear! Those who hear and don’t act are like those who glance in the mirror, walk away, and two minutes later have no idea who they are, what they look like. But whoever catches a glimpse of the revealed counsel of God–the free life!–even out of the corner of his eye, and sticks with it, is no distracted scatterbrain but a man or woman of action. That person will find delight and affirmation in the action. Anyone who sets himself up as “religious” by talking a good game is self-deceived. This kind of religion is hot air and only hot air. Real religion, the kind that passes muster before God the Father, is this: Reach out to the homeless and loveless in their plight, and guard against corruption from the godless world.”

••• I shouldn’t talk about my money and the state of my finances as often as I do. Note to self…don’t talk about people when they are not in the room or religion, politics, money/salary, sex, health problems or the war in Iraq…in any social setting!!!

