Random Thoughts (December 2007)

— Dana

• There is NO way I am going shopping during the Holiday Season…I will get angry about the mass consumption and consumerism that I see in everyone (including myself).

• I HAVE SO MANY GREY HAIRS!!! How did that happen?

• I am so excited that the bathroom will be finished upstairs in only 6 weeks from the day they started!!

• Why do I have to decorate for Christmas?

• What is wrong with me…it’s been almost 8 months and I am not pregnant!!!

• I am not writing a Christmas letter this year…and I am not sending out Holiday cards until I am out of debt!!!

• I’m glad I left my Christmas lights up all year…and that they worked the first time I plugged them in.

• I need to wrap presents.

• I don’t know why I keep having gallbladder attacks this month…when I don’t even have a gallbladder (as I eat more cookies 🙂 and fatty foods…am I retarded?).

• Boy, this bathroom construction project is creating a lot of dust in my house.

• My friends are such a blessing…and they’re really quite amazing.

• What? How many cookies do you want me to make?

• I know why I’ve been a Grinch this year…it’s because of unrealistic expectations.

• Will people think I’m weird if I donate to charity in their name…for their Christmas gift this year?

• If I eat one more Christmas cookie, I think I’m going to slip into a sugar coma.

• I should go to my yoga class…but I still have to wrap those Christmas presents.

• Weight Watchers? Not this week…

• WE ARE GOING TO BE OUT OF DEBT THIS YEAR!!!

• Now, I only have 3 days before Christmas…better get that Christmas letter finished.

• I am losing my ability to spell words!!! I think I am gonna give myself a weekly spelling test for all those words I misspell…from now on.

• Yey…it’s snowing!!!

• I hope Yokes stocks stamps this time of year…7 books of stamps, to be exact.

• I love my family.

• I think I am seriously addicted to crocheting. Perhaps, it’s not an addiction…maybe it’s just that I am “hooked”…

• This year’s Holiday stamps ROCK…I love sweater stamps!!!

• I still need to wrap those presents that I bought in June…why have I procrastinated until the end of December?

• Now, where did I put those stockings?

• I need to pray for Jeannie…everyday…that the Lord would heal her body and that He would be glorified in this situation!!!

• I love Holiday music!!!

• Maybe I should have decorated for Christmas this year…instead of opting out.

• Must finish…licking all…those envelopes…

• I need a haircut.

• I really like Chai tea…and I also LOVE the Mulled Cider recipe that my family made up when I was young. (One can of frozen Orange Juice, one can of frozen Apple Juice, water, nutmeg, ginger, whole cloves, a cinnamon stick, orange slices to float on the top…mmm, mmm, good…).

• I hope everyone likes their gifts…

• The contractor is moving my washer and dryer…from the basement to the main floor!!! I might enjoy doing the laundry in 2008…

• Why don’t people go to church on Christmas? Everyone goes on Easter (I know it’s on Sunday, so it is more “convenient” for everyone…but historically, everyone was given Christmas Day off so they could attend Church and be with their families).

• Our Candlelight Service was incredible this year…thank you, Jesus.

• Karli Fairbank’s Christmas CD is amazing!!!

• The plumber won’t be here until after Christmas…he’s all backed-up!!! (That joke never gets old…)

• Mr. Bean’s Holiday is a pretty silly movie.

• I think I really want our children to receive only 3 gifts at Christmas time. One from Aaron and I, one from my family and one from Aaron’s family…like in the Christmas story when the 3 kings brought Jesus 3 gifts.

• I got to be “santa” for the first time this year. I don’t know if I am going to do it for our children, yet…but it was fun sneaking around the house, filling stockings and putting presents under the tree for Nic and Asher (our nephews), while my sister-in-law had the night shift at the Hospital on Christmas Eve.

• I can’t believe I got the Eva Cassidy CD…I LOVE HER!!!

• I think the 2007 Christmas goes on my “Top 5 favorite Christmas Celebrations”.

• Despite what Stephenie thinks, I had enough will power (we’ll just call it “Aaron” for now)…and waited until Christmas day to open up all the gifts.

• Christmas is a completely different experience for children than it is for adults…why is that?

• Why are children’s toys wrapped in a BILLION packages and twist ties and multiple pieces of cardboard? Such a waste of materials!!!

• I have it all figured out now…new family tradition: My extended family will celebrate together on Christmas Eve during breakfast…and our kids will open their ONE gift from my family. Aaron’s family will have Christmas Eve dinner with us…our kids will then open their other ONE gift from Aaron’s family. THEN…Aaron and I (and our kids…if we ever get them) will celebrate Christmas day together as a family. We will have a little worship and devotional time, and then open up their one gift from us. That way, we can still have “family” time with our extended families, have some “church” at home…and also lessen the greed/consumerism that Christmas tends to bring. BRILLIANT!!!

• I wish I would have been in the “Christmas Spirit” this year…maybe I will start early in 2008…January might be early enough.

• 2008 is going to be a year of “not being so effected by my external conditions or by my emotions”…

