Mourning

— Dana

I find it interesting how different people mourn after a loved one has died. Some people (like myself) would rather talk to others about life and death…and be around those that they love. Then there’s the people (like my husband) who would rather be left alone, not talk about things and deal with it quietly in bed.

The news of death usually hits my husband right away and he begins his mourning process from the moment the news hits his ears. I, on the other hand, kick into survival mode and busy myself with things that need to get done in preparation for this recent news. Because I tend to be more task orientated at the beginning, it usually takes me a few days to begin my mourning process and really let it sink in that a loved one is not with me anymore.

Aaron and I have spent our 8 years together mourning more often than celebrating…or so it seems. Because when someone gets married, has a baby, etc…the event only lasts a day or two. Mourning, on the other hand, can last for weeks or months. It’s the big things in life that can either make or break a marriage. It will bring you closer together towards unity or tear you apart and lead to isolation. I am glad that we have learned to weather the storms of life together in unity. Because it makes the storms seem less miserable and shorter in time when we are together.

Speaking of mourning, I just finished reading Lamentations today. I started reading this book in the Bible last week. The prophet Jeremiah is weeping and crying out to the Lord because the Israelites have been taken captive from their promised land. He is crying and lamenting…asking the people to repent and turn from their evil ways so the Lord will be the center of their lives. While I was reading this, I couldn’t help but feel the same sort of mourning that Jeremiah felt…even though our outcome was different. Aaron lost his grandmother…and the nation of Israel lost their freedom and their land because of their disobedience. But the verses brought me great comfort and a reminder that the Lord knows what He is doing…and one day we will wake up and the pain will be gone. Whether or not it is tomorrow, next week or when the Lord returns to claim His kingdom here on earth…He promises to wipe every tear from my eye.

Revelation 21:2-5 (The Message)
“I saw Holy Jerusalem, new-created, descending resplendent out of Heaven, as ready for God as a bride for her husband. I heard a voice thunder from the Throne: “Look! Look! God has moved into the neighborhood, making his home with men and women! They’re his people, he’s their God. He’ll wipe every tear from their eyes. Death is gone for good–tears gone, crying gone, pain gone–all the first order of things gone.” “

Lamentations 3:19-33, 49-51, 55-58 (The Message)
19-21I’ll never forget the trouble, the utter lostness,
the taste of ashes, the poison I’ve swallowed.
I remember it all–oh, how well I remember–
the feeling of hitting the bottom.
But there’s one other thing I remember,
and remembering, I keep a grip on hope:

22-24God’s loyal love couldn’t have run out,
his merciful love couldn’t have dried up.
They’re created new every morning.
How great your faithfulness!
I’m sticking with God (I say it over and over).
He’s all I’ve got left.

25-27God proves to be good to the man who passionately waits,
to the woman who diligently seeks.
It’s a good thing to quietly hope,
quietly hope for help from God.
It’s a good thing when you’re young
to stick it out through the hard times.

28-30When life is heavy and hard to take,
go off by yourself. Enter the silence.
Bow in prayer. Don’t ask questions:
Wait for hope to appear.
Don’t run from trouble. Take it full-face.
The “worst” is never the worst.

31-33Why? Because the Master won’t ever
walk out and fail to return.
If he works severely, he also works tenderly.
His stockpiles of loyal love are immense.
He takes no pleasure in making life hard,
in throwing roadblocks in the way…

49-51″The tears stream from my eyes,
an artesian well of tears,
Until you, God, look down from on high,
look and see my tears.
When I see what’s happened to the young women in the city,
the pain breaks my heart…

55-57″I called out your name, O God,
called from the bottom of the pit.
You listened when I called out, ‘Don’t shut your ears!
Get me out of here! Save me!’
You came close when I called out.
You said, ‘It’s going to be all right.’

58″You took my side, Master;
you brought me back alive…

