Discomfort Foods

— Aaron

It’s November now, and people start gearing up for Thanksgiving and Christmas pretty soon. And holidays mean get-togethers with food. You hear people talk a lot about “comfort foods” – those foods that make you get all warm and snuggly inside. Well, here is a list of the opposite of those for me. Those foods that, thought they fill me up, do not bring me any extra joy, and maybe even rob me of a little happiness. These are my Discomfort foods:

  • Beets
  • Radishes
  • Mutton
  • Liver
  • Liverwurst
  • Dry wheat bread
  • Dijon mustard
  • Sweet pickles
  • Green Olives
  • Any nuts besides peanuts in my ice cream
  • Sauerkraut
  • Coleslaw
  • Cabbage, in general
  • Hominy
  • Tapioca
  • Creamed Corn
  • Anything with Rhubarb in it
  • Granny Smith and Red Delicious Apples
  • Grapefruit
  • Cranberries
  • Ginger
  • Birch Beer
  • Cilantro
  • Lima Beans
  • Horseradish
  • Anything with artificial Cherry flavor

Yes, a diet of these foods would probably suffice to make me quite skinny, as I’d probably only eat as little as possible to survive. What foods do you find awful?

One thought on “Discomfort Foods

  1. I am sure I can think of other discomfort foods…how about eggplant or sourpatch kids…or even dryer lint?

Comments are closed.