Wisdom and Finances

— Dana

On iTunes, there’s a feature called “Buy it Now”. It drives me crazy, because it is so easy to push…and I eventually rack up a bill that’s over twenty dollars (I guess I say “it’s only 99¢” far too often).

This is much of society’s motto in regards to most anything we want. Because of instant credit approvals and generous lending policies, we can often find a way to obtain whatever we decide we need…and just have “easy payments” (whether it’s a loan or credit card)!!!

In Galatians 6:7 it says, “Do not be deceived…a man reaps what he sows.” If we sow a habit of buying whatever we want (as long as we can qualify for the payments), we will reap a life that is never satisfied and perpetually in debt. Proverbs 22:7 says “the rich rule over the poor and the borrower becomes the lender’s slave.” But, if we will sow a habit of assessing our goals and needs (controlling our wants) and plan accordingly, we will reap the peace that comes from a content life.

1 Timothy 6:6-8 says, “Now godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. And having food and clothing, with these we shall be content.” Since Aaron and I have had less income after I quit my job to stay at home, it has been a challenge to really be content and evaluate what my “needs” and “wants” are. May God give me the added grace that I need to master the money beast and be a better steward with our finances.

Amen.

