Worlds of Possibility

— Dana

I spend much of my life living in the future (in a world of possibility)…which sounds like a positive thing, but such flights of fantasy also have their downside. Sometimes my world of possibility is the one in which George Bailey from “It’s a Wonderful Life” found himself…the one in which everything was owned by the wicked Old Man Potter. A world where everything was depressing and corrupt.

And so too my vision of the future (like George Bailey’s) is not always bright and cheery, but sometimes, very sad and hurtful. In one depressing vision of the future, I think of my life and being very ill, and all because I didn’t do anything about it, all because…perhaps on some level…I thought I deserved to be sick. Or maybe I didn’t do anything about it because of the fact that I lived in a world of possibility, and so I trained myself to think that something better was right around the corner.

Something else. Anything…except what I have right now.

But I’ve realized that sometimes that something else never comes. Sometimes that something else was the thing I always had. And I was just too self-consumed or distracted by the future to ever realize that I had it in the present moment. I don’t know if I’m making any sense right now. I just feel like I should live more in the present and quit worrying about what is going to happen in the future. As my friend Jerry always tells me, “It is what it is”…and there’s no reason why I should worry about it.

