Identity Crisis

— Dana

I was talking to a friend of mine from High School the other day, and she told me that I’ve been so serious the past few years…not funny and goofy like in High School. In my defense, I’ve just been more contemplative about life. (Especially due to the fact that I’m turning 25 this year.) There has been some sobering events that have happened the past few years to make me this way: horrible job situation, better job situation, Aaron’s dad passing away, my mom almost dying of cancer, Aaron’s job situation being unstable (it’s much better now), my childhood home burning down, jury duty, mission trips to foreign countries, being involved in a new church plant, surgeries, health problems, friends having children, infertility…I could go on and on.

When I really think about it, yes, most of my emails and blogs are indeed serious. I use my blog as a place to just keep my thoughts in one place…mostly so I can reference them at a later date if I need to. It helps me see where the Lord is molding my character and shaping me into the woman He wants me to be. Otherwise, I would just take all the glory for myself…

AAAARRRGGGHHH…

To be quite honest, I set out to write a funny blog…and it just ended up being serious. Perhaps that’s who I am now…NO…if you ask the people I hang out with on a regular basis, they can tell you I’m funny. I am trying so hard to hold on to who I was, and at the same time grow into who the Lord wants me to be without losing my identity. I am having an identity crisis!!! I think that’s really the problem. I don’t know how I’m suppose to act.

How can I be funny without causing myself and others to sin…because when I analyze my “humor” it’s mostly pushing the “line” too far or making fun of someone else. I don’t know how to be funny and still be a Christian. Maybe I should watch Christian comedians or something…or as the Christian cliche goes, I should just “just pray about it”.

