Security

— Aaron

We live in a culture that simultaneously values and lacks real security. Now that’s not too weird in and of itself, we often value those things that we lack. Take money, for example. But what’s weird about it, is that we have no real security, so we make ourselves as secure in the tiny things, while we remain insecure about the large things (which we have no control of) in order to make ourselves feel secure. It’s so illusory.

To flesh out my point: Crime, War, Sickness, Weather, and Death basically make all of us, on the greater scope of things completely insecure. Someone could break into my house at any time and steal whatever they like. North Korea could shoot a nuke at us at any time. I could come down with a painful, incurable disease. A windstorm could cause a fire that burns down my house. A family member could die with seemingly little cause. All of these things are completely out of my control.

Yet for all the little things I can do to surround myself with security – get insurance coverage, lock my doors, eat healthy, vote in the guy who is least likely to get us into a war – are all in some ways, vanity. They usually nothing to actually increase my security, only to increase my feelings of security. But just because I feel secure does not mean I am secure. Why do I say that? Because all of those means of securing myself are flawed and imperfect. They have gaps. Some are just to help when trouble already gets here. Some do all they can, but are really only half the battle. Some might just be stupid.

So what is perfect in it’s security? What’s perfect? My salvation. Not that I earned anything perfect, or something, but I was given a perfect gift, with out deserving it in the slightest. We all are given it really, though sadly, some have not heard of it, and even more sadly, some have chosen to reject it.

Jesus Christ is the only security, and He still doesn’t guarantee my security in any of the little or big ways I previously described. He guarantees my eternal security. But He never said, “Follow me, and your car will never get broken into.” He never said, “Follow me, and you won’t get cancer.” Nor did He ever say, “Follow me, and there won’t be any natural disasters/horrible weather/cloudy days.” Never even implied it. Not even close. Really. At least not for now.

He guarantees that I will enjoy eternity with Him, and that at some point, all the tears of the saints (anyone who ever believes in Him) will be wiped away. I’m thinking that point is after my death. It could be after Judgement day, even. But that time will come. So, in a way, I guess He does guarantee all the little ways I want to feel secure (and the middle-sized, big and ultimately huge ways, too) will be actually secure: And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” Rev. 21:3-5 (NIV)

One thought on “Security

  1. I like your post. I came upon it at random in blogger and am impressed with the simple wisdom your words offer. Thanks for the reminder. May God bless your socks off today!

Comments are closed.