Can I Help You?

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

— Dana

I started reading through the Gospels again this week, and in my reading I realized Jesus was the king of questions. He rarely answered a direct question. In fact, most of the time, He would just answer a question with a question.

Jesus often said something like: “What would you have me to do for you?” or “What do you want from me?” It’s something that makes me stop and think. At first, I wonder what I would say to Jesus if He were to ask me that same question. Do I want more money? A better job? A nicer house? Or would I ask Him for something more “spiritual” or obscure like peace or wisdom or joy?

Maybe there is a totally different way for me to look at Jesus’ question. For instance, if Jesus is our example of how we are to live a “Kingdom Life,” then maybe I have it all backwards. Instead of wondering what I want Jesus to give me, or do for me, or how to bless me…perhaps I should make it my habit to ask OTHER PEOPLE Jesus’ question.

Basically, if Jesus is my example and He was constantly walking around asking people, “What would you have me do for you”…maybe, just maybe, that is what I am supposed to do if I want to be a “follower of Christ.” The reality of this floors me. I can hardly bring myself to seriously consider this as an actual lifestyle choice. It’s challenging. It’s radical. It’s…well…it’s what Jesus would do. (WWJD?) Jesus said, “So you want first place? Then take the last place. Be the servant of all.” Mark 9:35 (The Message)

Can you imagine what your day would be like if you actually started every conversation with “What would you have me to do for you?” and then proceeded to serve each person you met? Maybe that’s extreme, but it’s something I’ve been hearing from God lately as a personal challenge. Can I live a life of a servant? Can I put the needs of others above my own? Can I become like Christ by serving everyone I come in contact with?

Only by the Grace of God I am learning what it means “to play second fiddle!” (Romans 12:8-10)

“If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care, then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.” Philippians 2:1-4 (The Message)

My hope is that I can be more like Christ is His example of asking questions and also serving other people.

