Laying Down the Law…(Part 1)

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

— Dana

A month ago, I had this deep conversation with my friend, Sarah. She asked a simple, yet thought provoking, question: “Why do Christians HAVE to follow the Ten Commandments?” How was I supposed to answer THAT question? After hours of talking, we moved on to another topic and I never re-visited the subject of “Old Testament Law” again. Until today…

I was driving down Division during rush-hour traffic. I approached a red light. There were two cars in front of me, and all I wanted to do was make a simple right turn. So, being the quick-witted driver that I am, I saw room on the right side of the cars to squeeze by. Any reasonable driver would try to do this!!! As I drove by, I pulled slightly to the right to avoid a protruding side mirror…and accidentally drove up on the curb. Whoops!!!

I decided to drive my car (for about 10 feet) on the curb. That way I could successfully finish my task of getting around those two cars. I finally approached the intersection…looked to the left…no cars in sight. I drove off the curb and down the road with a smile on my face…I AM THE BEST DRIVER IN THE WORLD!!! After I drove about fifteen blocks, a nice little police officer decided to turn on his lights and PULL ME OVER. I “pushed the line” a little to save a few seconds…and look where it got me…in trouble with “The Law.” Hmmm…was God trying to tell me something?

I have this tendency (my whole life) to “push the line.” When I was little, my mom use to say “Don’t eat anything, dinner is almost ready”…so I would take just one cookie instead of three. When I was in High School, I read “You Should Not Lie” in the Bible…so I would just tell “half truths” instead of lies. God has changed my heart as an adult, but I still have this bad tendency to “push the line.”

While I was waiting for the police officer to return my license and registration, I started to recall the conversation that I had with Sarah a month ago. She told me about this one scripture in the Bible: Romans 3:19-20…“We know that everything in the Law was written for those who are under its power. The Law says these things to stop anyone from making excuses and to let God show that the whole world is guilty of sin. God doesn’t accept people simply because they obey the Law. No, indeed! All the Law does is point out our sin.” THE LAW IS THERE TO POINT OUT OUR SIN…especially to those who like to “push the line” like me!!! I tried to do things my own way this morning, to save a few extra driving seconds, and “the law” was quickly there to point out how I was not following the rules.

