Marriage

— Aaron

What is a marriage based on, if not on God? If you don’t have God in your life, if you don’t know Jesus personally, then what keeps your marriage going?

I guess it could be intense love for another. And as great as that is, very very few people have it. Otherwise, what’s to stop you from saying to your spouse: “Eh, I don’t feel like being with you anymore.”??? It’s nothing but a legal formality in most states to just get a divorce.

How sad.

When a christian has God, then God is the King of all of us, and we should all follow Him, in our marriages, and in everything else. And He says “I hate divorce!” (Malachi 2:16).

So we have that encouragement to stay together: a God who doesn’t want divorce, and promises us the strength to do His will in every situation (not that we always do, but the power to follow Him is promised).

Also, we have the Love that He gives us, to give to our spouses. If you don’t have His love to give, what kind of love do you have?

5 thoughts on “Marriage

  1. An excellent point. Some claim marriage is a social and finiancial commitment, providing security for two individuals who would otherwise struggle if trying to live seperately…in America, it takes two incomes these days. And this pragmatic view seems to ignore the idea of romance in my opinion. However, while taking this pragmatic approach to marriage, at the very same time, our culture is obsessed with the feelings of love and romance. We idealize marriage, that it has to be intense feelings of love and passion all the time. Hmmm, so we have a marriage commitment that is nothing more than a social contract, kind of like busines partners, but we have to have extrememe love for each other 24-7? Am I the only one who sees this crazy contridiction in society’s definition of marriage?

    Christ’s idea of marriage is holy and beautiful. A way for us to experience forgivness, grace, and growth with Jesus daily. It has nothing to do with a promise of financial security- money is fleeting. And passion and romance come from our connection with Christ (and the definition of passion and romance also change as we mature) And that’s the kind of marriage I want.

    Sadly, our culture that’s in love with love and in love with security is missing a love for Christ and I feel a lot of people are going through needless pain and anguish because they just dont want to bend a knee and submit to the Lord. (I do this too sometimes)

    Now I have a question: as Christians how do we respond to a Christian couple that chooses divorce? We remind them of God’s truth? Than what do we do after the decision is made?

  2. To the question: as Christians how do we respond to a Christian couple that chooses divorce? We remind them of God’s truth? Than what do we do after the decision is made?

    In all situations we should extend grace…to everyone!!! Ultimately it is their individual choice if they wants to get married and/or divorced. I really can only speak into their lives and show them the path of Christ, not make them take that path.

    My thoughts are that I am here on this earth to build relationships with people…especially couples who are newly married and encourage them in every way I know how. I struggle when it comes to the couple who has been married longer than myself…it appears sometimes to the “long timers” that I am telling them how to be married when in fact they have more time under their belt than myself (even if it’s not time well spent).

    Following me?

    These people (the ones that I have a hard time telling them what Christ expects in a marriage) appear most of the time to have years of unforgiveness, weird “worldly” love (and not Godly love) and a desire to serve self and not their spouse. I am still seeking the Lord on how to handle friends and family in this situation with grace and love but also with authority and correction.

    So, I guess the answer is…I don’t know. I just wrote a whole bunch of words…blathering on and on…and I still don’t have an answer. Perhaps I should pray about this some more…

    To Be Continued…

  3. How do we respond?

    With grace. If a couple is getting a divorce, we should disparage it, and try to let them know what is right, with love, just like we would any other sin.

    But, if it’s already been commited: the papers are signed, and they’ve moved on, then we should respond with grace and forgiveness, just like we should with any other sin, not bringing up what Christ has separated from them.

    As Dana said (above), we don’t ultimately have control over that couple, and so they get to choose what to do.

    I suppose, if they think divorce in general is great, and are big cheerleaders for that cause, we should correct/rebuke them. But that’s another issue.

Comments are closed.